Photo series with English text

17 photos Sealed onto Forex sheets, plex­i­glass and clip-framed 1999 – 2000

8 photographs 30.345.1 cm
8 photographs 2045.1 cm (English text)
1 photo­graph 9.514.8 cm (title)

Edition of seven

Edition of seven:
8 photographs 60.690.2 cm
8 photographs 4090.2 cm
1 photo­graph 1929.6 cm

Sonata in Sea is presented as a room instal­la­tion, where a CD of Suzanne Brad­bury may also be heard.

A printed leaflet of the photo series was produced, with designer Thomas Zöller in 2001 

8 colour photos of the concert pianist Suzanne Brad­bury taken by Tanya Ury in the summer of 1999 portray Suzy rehearsing at the palace of the Arch­duke Luis Salvador, Son Marroig, Mallorca. These pictures, shot within a few seconds, specif­i­cally demon­strate hand move­ment over the piano keys. The images, hang edge-to-edge on a wall reading from left to right. Hand-written poetic texts by Tanya Ury (on music paper), accom­pany the images. The eight simi­larly framed but narrower text photos, hang (also edge-to-edge) directly beneath the portraits. A final smallest photo, the title, hangs beneath the last text to the right.

The title (and text) suggest that Suzanne might be playing Chopin’s Sonata in C (minor) — Chopin is part of Bradbury’s reper­toire but in the summer of 2000, she also performed a sonata by the late Peter Ury (Tanya’s father), at Son Marroig. In the back­ground of the photographs, the concert hall is empty; reflected in the wing of the grand piano a motion­less Mediter­ranean land­scape can be seen.

***

Tanya Ury’s written poetry may be regarded as concrete” because of its visual design, and uncon­ven­tional aural effect when spoken — the texts thereby gain in dimen­sion beyond accepted meaning.

Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)




Presen­ta­tion

2000 Solo exhi­bi­tion, Hotel Seehof, Zurich (CH)

Press

2001 (67) Announce­ment of the exhi­bi­tion Insensed” Hotel Seehof, Zurich (CH) in Kunst­forum Inter­na­tional, edition 155 (D)

Scroll to Top

1999 – 2000 

Photo­serie mit engli­schem Text

17 Photos auf Forex­platten verschweißt, rahmen­lose Halter, Plexi­glas und Halte­klam­mern
8 Photo­gra­fien 30.345.1 cm
8 Photo­gra­fien 2045.1 cm (engli­scher Text)
1 Photo­grafie 9.514.8 cm (Titel)

Auflage 7

Auflage 7:
8 Photo­gra­fien 60.690.2 cm
8 Photo­gra­fien 4090.2 cm
1 Photo­grafie 9 x 29.6 cm

Sonata in Sea wird als Raum­in­stal­la­tion präsen­tiert, wo auch eine CD von Suzanne Brad­bury gespielt wird.

Ein Lepo­rello von der Photo­serie ist 2001 mit dem Desi­gner Thomas Zöller produ­ziert worden. 

8 Farb­pho­to­gra­fien zeigen die Konzert­pia­nistin Suzanne Brad­bury, aufge­nommen von Tanya Ury im Sommer 1999. Sie übt im Palast des Erzher­zogs Luis Salvador, Son Marroig, Mallorca. Diese Bilder, inner­halb weniger Sekunden entstanden, zeigen insbe­son­dere die Hand­be­we­gungen über die Klavier-Tastatur. Die Bildern hängen dicht neben­ein­ander an der Wand. Sie werden von links nach rechts gelesen. Hand­ge­schrie­bene poeti­sche Texte von Tanya Ury (auf Noten­paper) begleiten die Abbil­dungen. Die acht auf gleiche Weise gerahmten, aber schma­leren Text-Photos hängen (eben­falls dicht an dicht) direkt unter den Porträts. Das letzte und kleinste Photo, der Titel, hängt rechts unter dem letzten Text.

Der Titel (und der Text) lassen vermuten, dass Suzanne Chopins C‑Moll-Sonate spielt – Chopin gehört zu Brad­burys Reper­toire, aber im Sommer 2000 führte sie auch eine Sonate des Verstor­benen Peter Ury (Tanyas Vater) in Son Marroig auf. Im Hinter­grund der Photos sieht man den leeren Konzert­saal; im aufge­klappten Deckel des großen Flügels spie­gelt sich eine bewe­gungs­lose medi­ter­rane Land­schaft.

***

Tanya Urys geschrie­bene Poesie könnte man als konkret“ bezeichnen: wegen des visu­ellen Design beim Betrachten und wegen des unkon­ven­tio­nellen Klangs beim Aufsagen derselben – die Texte gewinnen dadurch Dimen­sionen jenseits der gängigen Wort-Bedeu­tung.

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)




Präsen­ta­tion

2000 Einzel­aus­stel­lung, Hotel Seehof, Zürich, (CH)

Presse

2001 (67) Ankün­di­gung der Ausstel­lung Insensed“, Hotel Seehof, Zürich (CH) in Kunst­forum Inter­na­tional, Edition 155 (D)

Nach oben