Ury 2003

A photo­graph sealed under plex­i­glass and mounted (MDF), height 64 cm x width 86,64 cm (edition of 7)
(Edition of 7: height 32? cm x width 45? cm)

Insur­ance Value 2,000 Euros

lesser is me more or less features the artist Tanya Ury to the right of the picture, sitting in three-quarter view. Digi­tally incor­po­rated into the photo­graph and facing her to the left, is the German Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, Tanya Ury’s great-grand uncle, in a repro­duc­tion of his Selb­st­portät mit Dunklem Hut’ (Self-portrait with dark hat, 1914, 6440 cm). At the time, Lesser Ury was 53 years old and at the height of his powers. In this double portrait, the two Urys are more or less the same age, Tanya dresses and poses simi­larly to Lesser and mimics his facial expres­sion. At the centre of lesser is me more or less, conjoining the two picture halves, is the repre­sen­ta­tion of a scar and human scar tissue.


Double Portraits — a collec­tion of works:

Lesser Ury’s name was estab­lished in the 1880’s with his images of Berlin street scenes that depicted a city under­going the trans­for­ma­tion to Moder­nity. Ury was Jewish and a believer. The paint­ings of biblical themes are not so well known. It was his good fortune that he died in 1931; he was spared witnessing the down­fall of Germany and the anni­hi­la­tion of the Jewish people. After his death, the fate of his oeuvre was unsure; it was declared entartet’ (degen­erate) by the Nazis and many works were destroyed. A large amount was however, preserved by those private collec­tors who hid his works or emigrated, taking artworks with them to England, the USA and Israel.

In the 1930’s Tanya Ury’s parents fled Nazi Germany to England, where she was born and lived, until she moved to Germany to prac­tise art in 1993. After the war, the art of Lesser Ury was largely forgotten. Thanks to three retro­spec­tives in Berlin (1995 and 2002 in the Käthe-Koll­witz Museum, and 2002 in the Centrum Judaicum) Tanya Ury was able to acquaint herself with a collec­tion of Lesser Ury’s work that had been gath­ered together from many sources abroad.

In the 89 years that sepa­rate the two, pictured Ury’s, two world wars have occurred; Germany was divided and has again been reunited. Berlin is now expe­ri­encing a rebirth and expan­sion as it did during the Fin de Siècle of the 19th century; as a conse­quence, Lesser Ury’s Berlin cityscapes are once more much in demand. Tenta­tively and in recent years, Jewish artists have been returning to live and work in Germany. Whether the rean­i­ma­tion of a Jewish culture in Germany is possible now, and whether this attempt is Franken­steinian and bound to fail, are ques­tions that lesser is me more or less pose.

***

Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)

Infor­ma­tion
Concept: Tanya Ury
Camera and digital image processing: David Janecek




Presen­ta­tion

2003 (21.9 – 4.1.) Das Recht des Bildes, Jüdische Perspek­tiven in der Modernen Kunst (The Right of the Image, Jewish Perspec­tives in Modern Art), Museum Bochum (D)
2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Group exhi­bi­tion, opening 12 am, Jewish Cultural Days, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum (Old Museum in the BIS Centre), Moenchenglad­bach (D) www​.connected​-mg​.de
2007 (23.3.) On the online Femi­nist Art Base: www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org The Eliz­a­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA)

Publi­ca­tions & Press

The Power of Femi­ninity – Hubertus Wunschik has assem­bled an enor­mous range of art for a group exhi­bi­tion of inter­na­tional artists in the Alten Museum (Old Museum). The exhi­bi­tion Connected” combines the works of Jewish and non-Jewish prove­nance.

By Dirk Richerdt – Saturday 10th March 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

A glance directly inside the entrance to the bour­geois town house falls on the photo montages of Tanya Ury. The 55 year-old Jewish artist, born in London and living in Cologne since 1993, has created a series of dialogic self-portraits: one sees Ury together with antecedents, including the German impres­sionist painter Lesser Ury and the German Jewish writer Else Sara Ury. And then Albert Einstein turns up. Although she is not related to the scien­tist, Tanya Ury’s picture of the pipe-smoking researcher together with the artist, holding a (pipe) in the same manner, has a bizarre aura.

A humorous edge flashes up directly with the seri­ously intended repre­sen­ta­tion of personal history. Tanya Ury’s photos sealed under plex­i­glass there­fore lend the exhi­bi­tion a certain relief from earnest themes…” 

***

2008 (11) lesser is me more or less discussed in article on Tanya Ury (in German) by Hartmut Bomhoff, Jüdische Zeitung (monthly), Berlin (D) article as PDF www.j‑zeit.de
2019 (12) Tanya Ury’s artworks are discussed, as well as those of several other German artists, by Peter Chametzky, with images of lesser is me more or less, Who’s Boss: Röslein Sprach…, Who’s Boss: Art Prize Nr.4, and Who’s Boss: Hair Shirt Army (photo docu­men­ta­tion, at the exhi­bi­tion opening in EL-DE-Haus 2014, Cologne, by Peter Chametzky), in “’Turks, Jews, and Other Germans in Contem­po­rary Art’: An Intro­duc­tion,” The Mass­a­chu­setts Review (60th Anniver­sary Issue), vol. 604 (Winter 2019): p. 655 – 681. mass​re​view​.org/​s​i​tes/d… (USA)

Scroll to Top

Ury 2003 

Eine mit Plexi­glas verschweißte und montierte (MDF) Photo­gra­phie: Höhe 64 cm x Breite 90 cm (Edition 7)

Versi­che­rungs­wert 2.000 Euro

lesser is me more or less zeigt auf der rechten Seite des Bildes die Künst­lerin Tanya Ury in einer Drei­viertel-Ansicht. Digital in die Photo­gra­phie einge­baut, auf der linken Seite, ihr gegen­über, befindet sich der deut­sche Impres­sio­nist Lesser Ury, Tanya Urys Ur-Groß­onkel, in Gestalt einer Repro­duk­tion seines Selbstportät(s) mit Dunklem Hut’ (6440 cm) aus dem Jahr 1914. Zu dieser Zeit war Lesser Ury 53 Jahre alt und auf der Höhe seiner Schaf­fens­kraft. In diesem Doppel­Por­trät sind die beiden Urys mehr oder weniger gleich­altrig, Tanya ähnelt Lesser in Klei­dung und auch Haltung und ahmt seinen Gesichts­aus­druck nach. In der Mitte von lesser is me more or less, sozu­sagen die beiden Bild­hälften mitein­ander verbin­dend, ist die Darstel­lung einer Narbe und mensch­li­chen Narben­ge­webes zu sehen.


Doppel-Porträts – Eine Werk­serie:

Lesser Ury machte sich in den 80er Jahren des neun­zehnten Jahr­hun­derts einen Namen mit seinen Bildern von Berliner Stra­ßen­szenen, die ein Berlin auf dem Weg zur Moderne zeigen. Ury war jüdisch und gläubig. Einige seiner Gemälde, die bibli­sche Themen zum Inhalt haben, sind weniger bekannt. Es war sein Glück, dass er 1931 gestorben ist, und somit den Nieder­gang Deutsch­lands und die Vernich­tung des jüdi­schen Volkes nicht miter­leben musste. Nach seinem Tod blieb das Schicksal seines Oeuvres zunächst in der Schwebe; es wurde von den Nazis als entartet“ dekla­riert und viele seiner Werke wurden zerstört. Ein großer Teil wurde jedoch von Privat­samm­lern vor dem Zugriff der Nazis gerettet, indem sie Arbeiten versteckten oder sie auf dem Wege der Emigra­tion nach England, USA und Israel mitnahmen.

In den 30er Jahren flohen Tanya Urys Eltern aus Nazi Deutsch­land nach England, wo sie geboren wurde und bis 1993 lebte, um danach als Künst­lerin nach Deutsch­land zu ziehen. Nach dem Krieg war Lesser Urys Werk weit­ge­hend in Verges­sen­heit geraten. Nur dank dreier Retro­spek­tiven, die in Berlin (1995 und 2002 im Käthe-Koll­witz Museum, und 2002 im Centrum Judaicum) gezeigt wurden, war es Tanya Ury möglich, Lesser Urys Werk, das aus vielen verschie­denen Ländern zusam­men­ge­tragen worden war, kennen zu lernen.

In den 89 Jahren, die die beiden auf dem photo­gra­phi­schen Porträt abge­bil­deten Urys von einander trennen, haben zwei Welt­kriege statt­ge­funden; Deutsch­land wurde geteilt und wieder vereint. Berlin erlebt heute eine Wieder­ge­burt und erfährt einen Aufschwung, der mit demje­nigen am Ende des neun­zehnten Jahr­hun­derts (Fin de Siècle) vergleichbar ist; als Folge davon sind Lesser Urys Berlin-Ansichten wieder gefragt. In den letzten Jahren sind nach und nach jüdi­sche Künstler nach Deutsch­land gekommen, um dort zu leben und zu arbeiten. Ob diese Wieder­be­le­bung jüdi­scher Kultur in Deutsch­land über­haupt möglich ist, und ob ein solcher an fran­ken­stein­ähn­li­cher Versuch nicht zum Schei­tern verur­teilt ist, diese Frage stellt lesser is me more or less.

***

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)

Infor­ma­tion
Konzept: Tanya Ury
Kamera und Bild­be­ar­bei­tung: David Janecek




Präsen­ta­tion

2003 (21.9 – 4.1.) Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung, Das Recht des Bildes, Jüdi­sche Perspek­tiven in der Modernen Kunst (The Right of the Image, Jewish Perspec­tives in Modern Art), Museum Bochum (D)
2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung, Eröff­nung 12 Uhr, Jüdi­sche Kultur­tage, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum Mönchen­glad­bach www​.connected​-mg​.de (D)
2007 (23.3) Auf der online Femi­nist Art Base (Daten­bank für femi­nis­ti­sche Kunst) www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org… The Eliza­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA)


Publi­ka­tionen & Presse

Die Kraft der Weib­lich­keit – Eine enorme Band­breite von Kunst hat Hubertus Wunschik in einer Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung inter­na­tio­naler Künstler im Alten Museum versam­melt. Die Ausstel­lung Connected“ verbindet Werke jüdi­scher und nicht-jüdi­scher Prove­nienz.

Von Dirk Richerdt – Samstag 10. März 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

Einen Blick­fang schon im Entrée des Bürger­hauses bilden die Foto­mon­tagen von Tanya Ury. Die 55-jährige jüdi­sche Künst­lerin, in London geboren, die seit 1993 in Köln lebt, hat eine Serie dialo­gi­scher Selbst­por­träts geschaffen: Zu sehen ist Ury zusammen mit ihren Vorfahren, darunter der deut­sche impres­sio­nis­ti­sche Maler Lesser Ury und die deutsch-jüdi­sche Schrift­stel­lerin Else Sara Ury. Und dann taucht Albert Einstein auf. Mit dem Wissen­schaftler ist Tanya Ury zwar nicht verwandt, aber das Bild mit dem Pfeife schmau­chenden Forscher und der Künst­lerin daneben, die in glei­cher Art wie Einstein eine (Pfeife) hält, hat skurille Ausstrah­lung. Direkt neben der ernst gemeinten Darstel­lung persön­li­cher Geschichte blitzt die Humo­reske auf. Tanya Urys mit Plexi­glas verschweißte Fotos nehmen der Ausstel­lung so eine gewisse Ernst­las­tig­keit…“ 

***

2008 (11) Über lesser is me more or less wird in einem Artikel über Tanya Ury von Hartmut Bomhoff in der monat­lich erschei­nenden Jüdi­schen Zeitung” Berlin disku­tiert (D) Artikel als PDF www.j‑zeit.de
2019 (12) Tanya Ury’s artworks are discussed, as well as those of several other German artists, by Peter Chametzky, with images of lesser is me more or less, Who’s Boss: Röslein Sprach…, Who’s Boss: Art Prize Nr.4, and Who’s Boss: Hair Shirt Army (photo docu­men­ta­tion, at the exhi­bi­tion opening in EL-DE-Haus 2014, Cologne, by Peter Chametzky), in “’Turks, Jews, and Other Germans in Contem­porary Art’: An Intro­duc­tion,” The Massa­chu­setts Review (60th Anni­ver­sary Issue), vol. 604 (Winter 2019): p. 655 – 681. mass​re​view​.org/​s​i​tes/d… (USA)

Nach oben