A photo­graph sealed under plex­i­glass and mounted (MDF), height 64 cm x width 101,6 cm (edition of 7)
(Edition of 7: height 32 cm x width 50,8 cm)

Insur­ance value 2,000 Euros

Concept Tanya Ury

Camera David Janecek 

Digital image processing Claudia Stasch

Double Portraits — a collec­tion of works:

To the left of the photo­graph Du bist Einstein, the artist Tanya Ury is featured with a pipe; she faces the viewer but gazes to the right. Digi­tally incor­po­rated into the photo­graph on the right side of the picture, is a portrayal of Albert Einstein himself, also with pipe not a double, as in Ury’s artwork doo bee doo. In this double portrait, Ury also dresses and poses simi­larly to Einstein however — she mimics his facial expres­sion of a half-smile.

Einstein was born in Ulm, as were Tanya Ury’s Jewish grand­par­ents Sigmar and Hedwig (neé Ullmann) Ury, who later fell victim to the Nazis. In 1993, Tanya Ury, second-gener­a­tion who was born in London however, acquired British/​German dual-nation­ality, the year when she also moved to live and work in Germany.

The title Du bist Einstein refers to the poster featuring an Einstein double, part of the TV campaign Du bist Deutsch­land” (You are Germany). Shortly before the German general elec­tion in 2005, this campaign aimed to instil a patri­otic, feel-good factor. That Einstein was chosen to repre­sent a modern German ideal is ques­tion­able because in 1933 Einstein, who was Jewish, had to flee Germany to the USA.



Presen­ta­tion

2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Group exhi­bi­tion, opening 12 am Jewish Cultural Days, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum (Old Museum in the BIS Centre), Moenchenglad­bach (D)

2007 (15.7. – 26.8.) Kunstverein Rosen­heim Jahre­sausstel­lung (yearly exhi­bi­tion of the Rosen­heim Art Centre), opening 14th July, Städtische Galerie (City Gallery), Rosen­heim (D)

2007 (15.7. – 26.8.) double portrait in cata­logue, Kunstverein Rosen­heim Jahre­sausstel­lung (yearly exhi­bi­tion of the Rosen­heim Art Centre), opening 14th July, Städtische Galerie, Rosen­heim (D)

Press

The Power of Femi­ninity – Hubertus Wunschik has assem­bled an enor­mous range of art for a group exhi­bi­tion of inter­na­tional artists in the Alten Museum (Old Museum). The exhi­bi­tion Connected” combines the works of Jewish and non-Jewish prove­nance.

By Dirk Richerdt – Saturday 10th March 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

A glance directly inside the entrance to the bour­geois town house falls on the photo montages of Tanya Ury. The 55 year-old Jewish artist, born in London and living in Cologne since 1993, has created a series of dialogic self-portraits: one sees Ury together with antecedents, including the German impres­sionist painter Lesser Ury and the German Jewish writer Else Sara Ury. And then Albert Einstein turns up. Although she is not related to the scien­tist, Tanya Ury’s picture of the pipe-smoking researcher together with the artist, holding a (pipe) in the same manner, has a bizarre aura.

A humorous edge flashes up directly with the seri­ously intended repre­sen­ta­tion of personal history. Tanya Ury’s photos sealed under plex­i­glass there­fore lend the exhi­bi­tion a certain relief from earnest themes…”

(Trans­la­tion from German T.U.)

***

…Tanya Ury’s photographs Du bist Einstein“ and or else“ insis­tently but at the same time with humour concern them­selves with ques­tions of iden­tity. With these, she posi­tions recre­ated photographs next to the orig­i­nals…”

A persua­sive yes to art – A tour in the Städtis­chen Galerie (City Gallery) through the Jahre­sausstel­lung des Kunstvereins Rosen­heim (Rosen­heim Art Centre’s Yearly Exhi­bi­tion), by Raimund Feichtner (with an image of Du bist Einstein“, 23.4.2007 Kultur in der Region (Culture in the Region), Verlagshaus (Publishing House) Rosen­heim (D)

(Trans­la­tion from German T.U.)

Scroll to Top

2007

Eine mit Plexi­glas verschweißte und montierte (MDF) Photo­gra­phie: Höhe 64 cm x Breite 101,6 cm (Edition 7)
(Edition 7: Höhe 32 cm x Breite 50,8 cm)

Versi­che­rungs­wert 2.000 Euro

Konzept Tanya Ury

Kamera David Janecek

Digi­tale Bear­bei­tung Claudia Stasch

Doppel-Porträts – Eine Werk­serie:

Auf der linken Seite der Photo­gra­phie Du bist Einstein, ist die Künst­lerin Tanya Ury abge­bildet mit Pfeife; ihr Gesicht ist dem Betrachter zuge­wandt, wobei die Augen nach rechts schauen. Digital in die Photo­gra­phie einge­baut, befindet sich auf der rechten Seite eine Abbil­dung von Albert Einstein selbst mit Pfeife – nicht ein Double, wie in Urys Arbeit doo bee doo. In diesem Doppel-Porträt ähneln jedoch auch Klei­dung und Pose Urys derje­nigen Einsteins; sie ahmt seinen Gesichts­aus­druck – ein Halb­lä­cheln nach.

Einstein wurde in Ulm geboren, so wie die jüdi­schen Groß­el­tern von Tanya Ury, Sigmar und Hedwig (gebo­rene Ullmann), die später Opfer der Nazis wurden. Dennoch nahm Tanya Ury, die in der zweiten Genera­tion in London geboren wurde, 1993 die englisch-deut­sche doppelte Staats­bür­ger­schaft an, – in jenem Jahr als sie auch nach Deutsch­land zog, um dort zu leben und arbeiten.

Der Titel Du bist Einstein bezieht sich auf die Plakat­wer­bung, die ein Einstein-Double zeigt, als Teil der TV-Kampagne Du bist Deutsch­land“. Kurz vor der Bundes­wahl 2005 war diese darauf gerichtet, posi­tive patrio­ti­sche Gefühle hervor­zu­rufen. Dass Einstein gewählt wurde, ein deut­sches Ideal zu reprä­sen­tieren, ist frag­würdig, weil der jüdi­sche Einstein 1933 aus Deutsch­land in die USA flüchten musste.



Präsen­ta­tion

2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung, Eröff­nung 12 Uhr, Jüdi­sche Kultur­tage, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum Mönchen­glad­bach (D)

2007 (15.7. – 26.8.) Kunst­verein Rosen­heim Jahres­aus­stel­lung, Eröff­nung 14. Juli, Städ­ti­sche Galerie (D)

2007 (15.7. – 26.8.) Doppel­por­trät im Katalog des Kunst­ver­eins Rosen­heim Jahres­aus­stel­lung, Eröff­nung 14. Juli, Städ­ti­sche Galerie (D)

Presse

Die Kraft der Weib­lich­keit – Eine enorme Band­breite von Kunst hat Hubertus Wunschik in einer Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung inter­na­tio­naler Künstler im Alten Museum versam­melt. Die Ausstel­lung Connected“ verbindet Werke jüdi­scher und nicht-jüdi­scher Prove­nienz.

Von Dirk Richerdt – Samstag 10. März 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

Einen Blick­fang schon im Entrée des Bürger­hauses bilden die Foto­mon­tagen von Tanya Ury. Die 55-jährige jüdi­sche Künst­lerin, in London geboren, die seit 1993 in Köln lebt, hat eine Serie dialo­gi­scher Selbst­por­träts geschaffen: Zu sehen ist Ury zusammen mit ihren Vorfahren, darunter der deut­sche impres­sio­nis­ti­sche Maler Lesser Ury und die deutsch-jüdi­sche Schrift­stel­lerin Else Sara Ury. Und dann taucht Albert Einstein auf. Mit dem Wissen­schaftler ist Tanya Ury zwar nicht verwandt, aber das Bild mit dem Pfeife schmau­chenden Forscher und der Künst­lerin daneben, die in glei­cher Art wie Einstein eine (Pfeife) hält, hat skur­rile Ausstrah­lung. Direkt neben der ernst gemeinten Darstel­lung persön­li­cher Geschichte blitzt die Humo­reske auf. Tanya Urys mit Plexi­glas verschweißte Fotos nehmen der Ausstel­lung so eine gewisse Ernst­las­tig­keit…“

***

…Mit der Frage der Iden­tität beschäf­tigen sich eindring­lich und witzig zugleich Tanya Urys Foto­ar­beiten Du bist Einstein“ und or else“. Bei denen sie nach­ge­stellte Foto­gra­fien zu den Original-aufnahmen stellt…“

Ein über­zeu­gendes Ja zur Kunst – Ein Rund­gang in der Städ­ti­schen Galerie durch die Jahres­aus­stel­lung des Kunst­ver­eins Rosen­heim, von Raimund Feichtner (mit Abbil­dung von Du bist Einstein“, 23.4.2007 Kultur in der Region, Verlags­haus Rosen­heim (D)

Nach oben