Video-instal­la­tion and some printed concrete poetry 

The poetry series two toned was written directly after the toned poems that were set to music with sound effects by Kasander Nilist; the title, amongst other things, also refers to the term tone poems”.

A symphonic poem or tone poem is a piece of orches­tral music in a single contin­uous section (a move­ment) in which the content of a poem, a story or novel, a painting, a land­scape or another (non-musical) source is illus­trated or evoked. The term was first applied by Hungarian composer Franz Liszt to his 13 works in this vein. en​.wikipedia​.org/​wiki/…

The term two-tone also suggests the two-tone mate­rial that was often used to make men’s suits fash­ion­able in the 1970’s.

When blue beat and ska were revived in the late 1970s through bands like The Specials, The Beat, Madness it intro­duced two-tone fabric to the fashion and the gang­ster rude boy’ style of down­town Jamaica. www.hidden-histories.o…

And conse­quently two toned refers also to the music form that emerged in the 1970’s.

2 Tone (or Two Tone) is a music genre created in England in the late 1970s by fusing elements of ska, punk rock, rock­steady, reggae and New Wave. Within the history of ska, 2 Tone is clas­si­fied as its second wave, and is the precursor of the third wave ska scene of the 1980s and 1990s.[1] (…)The term was coined by The Specials’ keyboardist Jerry Dammers, who — with the assis­tance of Horace Panter and graphic designer John Teflon” Sims — created the iconic Walt Jabsco logo (a man in a black suit, white shirt, black tie, pork pie hat, white socks and black loafers) to repre­sent the 2 Tone genre. en​.wikipedia​.org/​wiki/…

***

Like half dimen­sional poems 2009 – 2011, cement 2011, weißer neger (white nigger) 2011, concrete party 2011 and cross word 2011 – 2012, two toned is prose poetry, written in English and German. In style and sense these are concrete poems, a collec­tion of jumbled abstract thoughts, misun­der­stood conver­sa­tion and misread text, which, reflect the daily life and tempera­ment of the Jewish artist. This piece, unlike Tanya Ury’s other concrete poetry will however be presented with several actors and thema­tises Jewish iden­tity and life in Germany today. 

Tanya Ury

***

Tanya Ury’s written poetry may be regarded as concrete” because of its visual design, and uncon­ven­tional aural effect when spoken — the texts thereby gain in dimen­sion beyond accepted meaning.

2011, Ury created visual images of 17 concrete poems, to be presented online and as print versions (23.532.45 cm), digital image processing Mirco Sanftleben, two of these poems being femi­ninity and femi­nini­a­tion, the rest being part of the series cement, weißer neger (white nigger), concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv and since 2011 Tanya Ury recorded 6 of the more tradi­tional poems (toned poems: 5.54 minutes) to be found in the poetry series, together with Kasander Nilist (double bass, sound and mix), also for the June edition online of Imag­i­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sity of Alberta (CA) with Ury as featured artist.
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)



Presen­ta­tion

2012 (11.6) Tanya Ury is the featured artist with new works in the June edition online of Imag­i­na­tions: Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sity of Alberta, Canada, with Videos: Inti­macy, cement & dark room; a series of 17 concrete poems, the photo­graph Alibi­jude, Selec­tion from the Who’s Boss series, and 8 photos from Soul Brothers & Sisters, also 3 photos of Occupy in Stras­bourg, from the Fading into the Fore­ground series; further­more 5 toned poems (sounds, music and sound mix Kasander Nilist) and a peer review inter­view (text and Skype video) with Claude Desmarais, (CA)
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Scroll to Top

2012-04-202012-07-15 

Video-Instal­la­tion und einige gedruckte, konkrete Poesie 

Die Gedicht­reihe two toned wurde direkt nach den toned poems geschrieben, die von Kasander Nilist vertont wurden; der Titel bezieht sich unter anderem auch auf den Begriff tone poems”.

Eine symphonic poem (Sympho­ni­sche Dich­tung) oder tone poem (Tondich­tung) ist ein Orches­ter­stück, das in einem einzelnen Abschnitt (ein Satz) gestaltet wurde, in dem ein Gedicht, eine Geschichte oder ein Roman, ein Gemälde, eine Land­schaft oder eine andere (nicht-musi­ka­li­sche) Quelle illus­triert oder evoziert wird. Der Begriff wurde zuerst von dem unga­ri­schen Kompo­nisten Franz Liszt für sein (gleich­na­miges) 13-stückiges Werk in diesem Sinn verwendet. (Über­set­zung Tanya Ury & Amin Farza­nefar) en​.wiki​pedia​.org/​wiki/…

Der Begriff two-tone“ bedeutet auch das zwei­farbig gear­bei­tete Gewebe, das oft für die Herstel­lung von Männer­an­zügen der 1970er Jahre verwendet wurde.

Als Blue Beat und Ska in den späten 1970ern durch Bands wie The Specials, The Beat und Madness wieder belebt wurden, wurde two-tone“ – zwei­farbig gear­bei­tetes Gewebe – in der Mode­welt und im Rude-Boy-Gangs­ter­stil der Innen­stadt von Jamaika einge­führt. (Über­set­zung TU & AF) www.hidden-histories.o…

Und gege­be­nen­falls bezieht sich two toned auch auf die Musik­form, die in den 1970er Jahren entstanden ist.

2‑Tone (oder Two Tone) entstand als Musik­genre im England der späten 1970er Jahre, indem Elemente von Ska, Punk-Rock, Rock­s­teady, Reggae und New Wave verei­nigt wurden. Inner­halb der Geschichte des Ska wird 2 Tone als die zweite Welle klas­si­fi­ziert und ist Vorläufer der Dritten Welle der Ska-Szene der 1980er und 1990er Jahre. (…) Der Begriff wurde von Jerry Damm­mers, dem Keyboarder von The Specials entworfen, der – mit Unter­stüt­zung von Horace Panter und Grafik-Desi­gner John Teflon“ Sims – das ikoni­sche Walt-Jabsco-Logo erschuf (ein Mann in schwarzem Anzug, weißem Hemd, schwarzer Krawatte, mit Pork Pie Hat, weißen Socken und schwarzen Slip­pern) um das 2‑Tone Genre zu reprä­sen­tieren. (Über­set­zung Tanya Ury & Amin Farza­nefar) en​.wiki​pedia​.org/​wiki/…

***

Das Stück two toned ist ebenso wie weißer neger, half dimen­sional poems (halb­di­men­sio­nale Gedichte, 2009 – 2011), cement (Befes­tigte Gedichte 2011) concrete party 2011 und cross word 2011 – 2012, auf Englisch und Deutsch in Vers­form geschrieben. In Stil und Absicht ist es auch konkrete Poesie“, eine Kollek­tion aus durch­ein­ander gewor­fenen, abstrakten Gedanken, miss­ver­stan­dener Unter­hal­tung und falsch gele­senen Texten, die alle zusammen Alltag und Gemüt der jüdi­schen Künst­lerin reflek­tieren. Diese Edition, sowie die eben erwähnte Poesie besteht aus 28 Gedichten, jede der 4 Seiten wird als typo­gra­fisch gestal­tetes Blatt präsen­tiert. 

Tanya Ury

***

Tanya Urys geschrie­bene Poesie könnte man als konkret“ bezeichnen: wegen des visu­ellen Design beim Betrachten und wegen des unkon­ven­tio­nellen Klangs beim Aufsagen derselben – die Texte gewinnen dadurch Dimen­sionen jenseits der gängigen Wort-Bedeu­tung.

2011 gestal­tete Ury 17 konkrete Gedichte als Bild­ge­dichte“ (sowohl als Online- wie als Druck­fas­sung (23,532,45 cm), Bild­be­ar­bei­tung Mirco Sanft­leben. Zwei dieser Poeme – femi­ninity, femi­ni­nia­tion – erschienen einzeln, die anderen als Teile der Serien cement, weißer neger, concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv und seit 2011 hat Tanya Ury zusammen mit Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass, Ton und Schnitt) auch sechs der eher tradi­tio­nellen Gedichte aus ihrer Poesie-Reihe aufge­zeichnet (toned poems: 5.54 Minuten). Die Aufnahme erscheint Online in der Juni-Edition von Imagi­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sität von Alberta (CA), die sich der Künst­lerin Ury widmet.
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)



Präsen­ta­tion

2012 (11.6) Die Juni-Online-Ausgabe von Imagi­na­tions: Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sität von Alberta, Kanada, stellt die Künst­lerin Tanya Ury vor, mit neuen Arbeiten – Videos: Inti­macy, cement & dark room; eine Serie von 17 concrete poems, die Photo­gra­phie Alibi­jude, Selec­tion aus der Who’s Boss-Serie, und 8 Photos aus Soul Brothers & Sisters. Außerdem: 3 Photos von Occupy in Stras­bourg, aus der Serie Fading into the Fore­ground; und weitere 6 toned poems (Sounds, Musik & Tonmi­schung: Kasander Nilist) sowie einem Peer-Review-Inter­view (Text und Skype-Inter­view-Abschrift) mit Claude Desma­rais (CA)
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Nach oben