Video (English) 34 mins 2003 Beta SP, PAL 4:3
Docu­men­ta­tion of a perfor­mance with Rolf Steiner
Hochbunker Cologne-Ehren­feld (D) 9.11.2002

2005
Trailer 6 Minutes

Price DVD: 50 Euros

Jacob’s Ladder – a collec­tion of works:

Red Hot Pokers is an imag­ined inter­ac­tion between the dictator Adolf Hitler and the philoso­pher Ludwig Wittgen­stein. Tanya Ury and Rolf Steiner read arbi­trarily chosen extracts from Mein Kampf“ 1924 in English, and Remarks on Colour“ 1950, written in England.

During the Third Reich every German family was provided with a copy of Mein Kampf” by the state; it is now illegal in Germany to sell, own or read out in public from this book. For this perfor­mance Tanya Ury obtained her German copy, printed in Croatia from Slovenia.1

The contrast between the two texts, the former, powerful polit­ical propa­ganda, the latter, a flowery philos­ophy of language, is vast — it becomes so apparent that language games have no power against tyranny; the resulting perfor­mance, whether played in the English or German language (in German with Kristof Szabo, 16.12.2007, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, Munich), is never­the­less delight­fully absurd, although the abstrac­tion of Mein Kampf“ quoted in English is most compelling.

***

Hitler and Wittgen­stein both attended the same school as 14 year-olds in Austrian Linz. They were also born within 6 days of each other, the former 20.4.1889 the latter 26.4.1889.

In Ury’s perfor­mance Adolf Hitler substi­tutes Karl Popper, contender for the philosopher’s crown, in a noto­rious poker game of words with Wittgen­stein that took place during a Moral Science Club Seminar 1946, in Cambridge, England. It was the only time that the two emigrant Austrian Jews were to meet.

Wittgen­stein seeking to illus­trate a point seized the poker, hot from the fire and appeared to threaten Popper with it. While wishing to demon­strate their supremacy in the field of philos­ophy, Wittgen­stein and Popper will nonethe­less have reminded each other, of philosophy’s failure in the face of Hitler’s brute power. Was this the true cause of their conflict?

1 On returning from a journey to the USA in 2008, I was surprised to discover amongst other best­sellers, a number of copies of the English version of Mein Kampf” for sale on the shelf in the New York book­shop: Borders Airport Stores. T.U.

Our spec­u­la­tion (…), is that this one Jewish boy’ Hitler refers to, the very first link in the chain of hatred that led to Auschwitz, was none other than Ludwig Wittgen­stein. I am suggesting then, that Ludwig Wittgen­stein is referred to in Mein Kampf.

How likely is it that Hitler’s unknown Jew was really Wittgen­stein? McGuinnes notes that there was only a handful’ of Jews at the school. This is supported by Hitler’s own obser­va­tion that There were few Jews in Linz.’1 Had we known there was only one student of Jewish descent at the school, the case would be settled and there could be no doubt at all that Hitler’s Jew was Wittgen­stein.” The Jew of Linz: Wittgen­stein, Hitler and their Secret Battle for the Mind, Kimberley Cornish 1998, publ. Arrow Books Limited

Not until my four­teenth or fifteenth year did I begin to come across the word Jew’, with any frequency, partly in connec­tion with polit­ical discus­sions. This filled me with a mild distaste, and I could not rid myself of an unpleasant feeling that always came over me when­ever reli­gious quar­rels occurred in my pres­ence.

At that time I did not think anything else of the ques­tion.

There were few Jews in Linz. In the course of the centuries their outward appear­ance had become Euro­peanized and had taken on a human look; in fact, I even took them for Germans. The absur­dity of this idea did not dawn on me because I saw no distin­guishing feature but the strange reli­gion. The fact that they had, as I believed, been perse­cuted on this account some­times almost turned my distaste at unfavourable remarks about them into horror.

Thus far I did not so much as suspect the exis­tence of an orga­nized oppo­si­tion to the Jews.

Then I came to Vienna.” Adolf Hitler, Mein Kampf first published in German in 1925, Mariner Books edition, US 1999, p 51 – 52

112 Ludwig Wittgen­stein: The Duty of Genius, Ray Monk, publ. Jonathan Cape 1990

The docu­mented perfor­mance took place at the finis­sage of Tanya Ury’s exhi­bi­tion Jacobs Ladder in the Hochbunker Cologne-Ehren­feld, Germany on 09.11.2002, the anniver­sary of Reich­skristall­nacht. The bunker was built on the site of a syna­gogue, which had been destroyed on Reich­skristall­nacht, 1938.

The Poker Game 2003, a further perfor­mance by Tanya Ury, in which Ury takes on the roles of both Hitler and Wittgen­stein, develops the theme of Red Hot Pokers.

Wittgen­stein, who had been awarded a medal for bravery in the First World War, was forced to buy his family out by the Second; they were consid­ered Jewish and discrim­i­nated by the Nurem­berg Laws.

The philoso­phers Wittgen­stein and Popper’s views were diverging; where Wittgen­stein aspired to deci­pher puzzles, Popper aimed to solve prob­lems. This was for him more than the mere untan­gling of linguistic equa­tions; Popper believed that philos­ophy should be prac­tical, that a philosopher’s moral duty was to assist in the real­i­sa­tion of demo­c­ratic rule. He felt that Wittgenstein’s theory of language was dangerous in its abstrac­tion and disin­terest of polit­ical actu­al­i­ties. The war was only just over; England was still living under rationing. It was cold and the only source of heat in H3, the room where the dispute took place, was from a small open fire­place. A fierce vocal exchange, which quickly devel­oped into a serious duelling of words, occurred within moments of the debate opening. Wittgen­stein seeking to illus­trate a point seized the poker, hot from the fire and appeared to threaten Popper with it. While wishing to demon­strate their supremacy in the field of philos­ophy, Wittgen­stein and Popper will nonethe­less have reminded each other, of philosophy’s failure in the face of Hitler’s brute power. Was this the true cause of their conflict?

In Jewish terms, he (Wittgen­stein) could be seen as a tradi­tional wilder­ness-wandering tsaddik, a holy man.” (P.18: Wittgenstein’s Poker, Edmonds and Eidinow, 2001 Faber and Faber UK). Wittgen­stein, who was prob­ably a latent homo­sexual, embodied every­thing anathema to the prin­ciple in Hitler’s National Socialist civi­liza­tion.

Speech to the conclu­sion of the exhi­bi­tion Dias­poras and Trou­bles”, 16th December 2007, for the perfor­mance Red Hot Pokers by Tanya Ury with Kristof Szabo

The perfor­mance Red Hot Pokers was first presented at Tanya Ury’s exhi­bi­tion Jacob’s Ladder“ in the Hochbunker Cologne-Ehren­feld, Germany, 2002.

The starting point for this perfor­mance was a duel of words that took place between the philoso­phers Karl Popper and Ludwig Wittgen­stein, both Jews of Austrian origin. During this argu­ment in Cambridge, 1946, Wittgen­stein snatched up a poker to illus­trate his point. Popper felt himself threat­ened.

Tanya Ury alien­ates the conver­sa­tion that really occurred by employing biograph­ical refer­ences to Ludwig Wittgen­stein and Adolf Hitler. Both were born 1889, within the same six days, in Austrian Linz. They attended the same school — were possibly even in the same class. Tanya Ury draws on the idea of the unholy twins” – she alien­ates the philoso­phers’ debate by creating an inter­ac­tion using quota­tions from Adolf Hitlers Mein Kampf“ that is still banned in Germany, and Ludwig Wittgenstein’s Remarks on Colour”.

With the arbi­trary choice of text passages that in no way relate to each other, a surreal testi­mony comes about: brutal polit­ical domi­nance is faced with the abstract philos­ophy of language.

Anette Franken­berger, curator, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, Munich


Infor­ma­tion

Concept: Tanya Ury

Actors: Tanya Ury, Rolf Steiner

Camera: David Janecek

AVID Edit: Zuhal Er, Karin Sistig, Aron Roos


Presen­ta­tion

2002 (9.11.) Red Hot Pokers perfor­mance in English with Rolf Steiner Jacob’s Ladder Hochbunker Cologne-Ehren­feld (D)

2003 (8.12.) Red Hot Pokers perfor­mance in English with Marina Grzinic, Vienna Kunstakademie (A)

at the Kunsthaus, 6th Graz Bien­nial on Media and Archi­tec­ture (A)

2003 (9.12.) Red Hot Pokers (trailer of video docu­men­ta­tion) & invi­ta­tion as guest speaker, Kunsthaus, 6th Graz Bien­nial for Media and Archi­tec­ture (A)

2006 (27.2) Peer Critique, trailer, Ben Uri Gallery, The London Jewish Museum (GB)

2006 (5.4.) Profes­sional Prac­tice Seminar with trailer, Fine Art Depart­ment, Sheffield Hallam Univer­sity (GB)

2006 (6.4) Trailer presented in Seminar within Cathy Gelbin’s PhD. Confer­ence course: Gender and Visual Arts, Holo­caust Studies, Royal Holloway, London (D)

2006 (10.5) Körper­bilder (Body Images), seminar with video trailer, Kunstverein Dort­mund (D)

2007 (23.3.) On the online Femi­nist Art Base: video trailer, The Eliz­a­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA)

www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org…

2007 (6.1116.12) Opening 5th November, ending 16th December, group exhi­bi­tion Dias­pora and Trou­bles curated by Tanya Ury. Perfor­mance Red Hot Pokers in German (Tanya Ury and Kristof Szabo) 3 pm, 16th December, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, Munich (D)

www.kunstbunker-tumulk…

www.kunstbunker-tumulk…

Scroll to Top

2003

Video 34 Min Beta SP, PAL 4:3

Doku­men­ta­tion einer Perfor­mance mit Rolf Steiner

Hoch­bunker Köln-Ehren­feld (D) 9.11.2002

2005
 Trailer 6 Minuten

Preis: DVD50 Euro


Jacob’s Ladder – Eine Werk­serie:

Red Hot Pokers ist eine in der Vorstel­lung exis­tie­rende Inter­ak­tion zwischen dem Diktator Adolf Hitler und dem Philo­so­phen Ludwig Witt­gen­stein. Tanya Ury und Rolf Steiner lesen auf Englisch will­kür­lich ausge­wählte Auszüge, aus Mein Kampf“ 1924 und Bemer­kungen über Farben“ (Remarks on Colour) 1950, geschrieben in England.

Während des Dritten Reiches wurde jede deut­sche Familie durch den Staat mit einem Exem­plar von Mein Kampf“ versorgt; in Deutsch­land sind Verkauf und Besitz dieses Buches heut­zu­tage ebenso verboten, wie die öffent­liche Lesung. Für ihre Perfor­mance verwendet Tanya Ury eine in Kroa­tien gedruckte und in Slowe­nien gekaufte deutsch­spra­chige Kopie.1

Der Kontraste zwischen den zwei Texten, der erste eine mäch­tige poli­ti­sche Propa­ganda, der andere eine blumige Sprach­phi­lo­so­phie, ist gewaltig –offen­sicht­lich wird, dass Sprach­spiele keine Macht gegen die Tyrannei haben können; die resul­tie­rende Perfor­mance, ob auf Englisch oder in Deutsch gespielt (auf Deutsch mit Kristof Szabo, 16.12.2007, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, München) ist bezau­bernd absurd, die Verfrem­dung des auf Englisch zitierten Mein Kampf“ dennoch äußerst bezwin­gend.

***

Hitler und Witt­gen­stein gingen beide als 14-Jährige in die gleiche Schule im öster­rei­chi­schen Linz; beide wurden auch in Abstand von 6 Tagen geboren, der eine am 20.4.1889 und der andere am 26.4.1889.

In Urys Perfor­mance wird Karl Popper, der Wett­streiter für um die philo­so­phi­sche Krone, durch Adolf Hitler ersetzt. 1946 fand in einem Seminar des Moral Science Club ein berüch­tigtes Poker-Spiel der Wörter zwischen Witt­gen­stein und Popper statt. Es war das einzige Zusam­men­treffen, der beiden öster­rei­chisch- jüdi­schen Emigranten.

Dabei ergriff Witt­gen­stein, der seine Gedanken zu illus­trieren versuchte, ein heißes Schür­eisen aus dem Feuer (im engli­schen Poker’ genannt) und schien Popper damit zu bedrohen. Während sie ihre Domi­nanz in den Sphären der Philo­so­phie demons­trieren wollten, erin­nerten Witt­gen­stein und Popper einander an die Nutz­lo­sig­keit der Philo­so­phie im Anblick von Hitlers brutaler Macht. Aber war das der wirk­liche Grund ihres Streits?

Die doku­men­tierte Perfor­mance fand bei der Finis­sage von Tanya Urys Ausstel­lung Jacob’s Ladder in dem Hoch­bunker Köln-Ehren­feld am 09.11.2002 statt, dem Jubi­läum der Reichs­kris­tall­nacht. Der Bunker war auf dem Ort errichtet worden, wo früher eine Synagoge stand, die 1938 in der Reichs­kris­tall­nacht zerstört wurde.

The Poker Game, eine weitere Perfor­mance Tanya Urys, in der sie die Rollen von Hitler und Witt­gen­stein spielt, entwi­ckelt die Themen von Red Hot Pokers weiter.

1 Gegen Ende einer USA-Reise in 2008 war ich über­rascht, in dem New York Buch­laden Borders Airport Stores“ unter einigen anderen Best­sel­lern mehrere Kopien der engli­schen Version von Mein Kampf“ zu finden. T.U.

Unsere Annahme besteht darin, dass dieser eine jüdi­sche Knabe’, auf den sich Hitler in Mein Kampf’ bezieht – dieses aller­erste Glied in der Kette des Hasses -, niemand anderes war als Ludwig Witt­gen­stein.

Wie wahr­schein­lich ist es, dass Hitlers unbe­kannter Jude wirk­lich Witt­gen­stein war? McGui­ness schreibt, dass es nur eine Hand­voll’ Juden an der Schule gab. Das wird von Hitlers eigener Beob­ach­tung gestützt: Linz besaß nur sehr wenig Juden.’1 Wüßten wir, dass es nur einen Schüler jüdi­scher Abstam­mung an der Schule gab, wäre der Fall geklärt, und es gäbe über­haupt keinen Zweifel, dass Hitlers Jude Witt­gen­stein war.“ Der Jude aus Linz, Hitler und Witt­gen­stein, Kimberley Cornish 1998, deut­sche Ausgabe S. 25, Verlag Ullstein

Erst in meinem vier­zehnten bis fünf­zehnten Jahre stieß ich öfters auf das Wort Jude, zum Teil im Zusam­men­hange mit poli­ti­schen Gesprä­chen. Ich empfand dagegen eine leichte Abnei­gung und konnte mich eines unan­ge­nehmen Gefühls nicht erwehren, das mich immer beschlich, wenn konfes­sio­nelle Stän­ke­reien vor mir ausge­tragen wurden.

Als etwas anderes sah ich aber damals die Frage nicht an.

Linz besaß nur sehr wenig Juden. Im Laufe der Jahr­hun­derte hatte sich ihr Äußeres euro­päi­siert und war mensch­lich geworden; ja, ich hielt sie sogar für Deut­sche. Der Unsinn dieser Einbil­dung war mir wenig klar, weil ich das einzige Unter­schei­dungs­merkmal ja nur in der fremden Konfes­sion erblickte. Daß sie deshalb verfolgt worden waren, wie ich glaubte, ließ manchmal meine Abnei­gung gegen­über ungüns­tigen Äuße­rungen über sie fast zum Abscheu werden.

Vom Vorhan­den­sein einer plan­mä­ßigen Juden­geg­ner­schaft ahnte ich über­haupt noch nichts.

So kam ich nach Wien.“ S. 55, Adolf Hitler, Mein Kampf, 1925, – 666. – 670. Auflage 1942 Band II 1927 by Verlag Frz. Eher Nachf., GmbH, München/​Printed in Germany. Druck: Wald­heim-Eberle, Nach­folger Buch­ge­werbe-Haus M. Müller & Sohn, Wien – Croa­tiaknjiga, Zagreb, 2002 www​.croa​tiaknjiga​.hr

1 S. 12 Ludwig Witt­gen­stein: The Duty of Genius, Ray Monk, Verlag: Jona­than Cape 1990)

The docu­mented perfor­mance took place at the finis­sage of Tanya Ury’s exhi­bi­tion Jacobs Ladder in the Hoch­bunker Cologne-Ehren­feld, Germany on 09.11.2002, the anni­ver­sary of Reichs­kris­tall­nacht. The bunker was built on the site of a synagogue, which had been destroyed on Reichs­kris­tall­nacht, 1938.

The Poker Game 2003, a further perfor­mance by Tanya Ury, in which Ury takes on the roles of both Hitler and Witt­gen­stein, deve­lops the theme of Red Hot Pokers.

Witt­gen­stein, der im Ersten Welt­krieg eine Tapfer­keits-Medaille erhalten hatte, musste im Zweiten Welt­krieg seine Familie frei­kaufen; die durch die Nürn­berger Gesetze als jüdisch bezeichnet und diskri­mi­niert wurde.

Die Meinungen der Philo­so­phen Witt­gen­stein und Popper diver­gierten; wo Witt­gen­stein Rätsel zu entzif­fern suchte, strebte Popper nach der Lösung von Problemen. Für Popper war es mehr als nur die Entwir­rung einer lingu­is­ti­schen Glei­chung; er glaubte, dass Philo­so­phie prag­ma­tisch sein müsse, dass die mora­li­sche Pflicht eines Philo­so­phen darin bestehe, der Reali­sie­rung demo­kra­ti­scher Systeme Beistand zu leisten. Popper glaubte, dass Witt­gen­steins Sprach­theo­rien in ihren Abstrak­tionen gefähr­lich seien, und aktu­elle poli­ti­sche Entwick­lungen nicht berück­sich­tigen. Der Krieg war erst gerade vorbei; England kämpfte immer noch mit der Ratio­nie­rung. Es war kalt und die einzige Wärme­quelle in H3, dem Zimmer wo der Disput statt­fand, war ein kleiner, offener Kamin. Eine erbit­terte Ausein­an­der­set­zung, die sich schnell in ein ernstes Wort­duell entwi­ckelte, geschah inner­halb weniger Minuten nach Eröff­nung der Debatte. Witt­gen­stein, der seine Gedanken zu illus­trieren versuchte, ergriff aus dem Feuer ein heißes Schür­eisen (im engli­schen Poker’ genannt) und schien Popper damit zu bedrohen. Während sie ihre Domi­nanz in den Sphären der Philo­so­phie demons­trieren wollten, erin­nerten Witt­gen­stein und Popper einander an die Nutz­lo­sig­keit der Philo­so­phie im Anblick Hitlers brutaler Macht. Aber war das der wirk­liche Grund ihres Streits?

In jüdi­scher Hinsicht, könnte man ihn (Witt­gen­stein) als einen in der Wildnis wandernden tradi­tio­nellen Tsaddik, einen Heiligen, betrachten.“ (S.18: Wittgenstein’s Poker, Edmonds and Eidinow, 2001 Faber and Faber UK – Zitat-Über­set­zung Tanya Ury & Amin Farza­nefar). Witt­gen­stein, der vermut­lich latent homo­se­xuell war, verkör­perte alles, was in Hitlers natio­nal­so­zia­lis­ti­schem Gesell­schafts­mo­dell verachtet war.

Begrü­ßung zur Finis­sage der Ausstel­lung Diasporas and Trou­bles am 16. Dezember 2007 Finis­sage Red Hot Pokers von Tanya Ury, mit Kristof Szabo

Die Perfor­mance Red Hot Pokers wurde erst­mals in Tanya Urys Ausstel­lung Jacob’s Ladder“ im Hoch­bunker Köln-Ehren­feld 2002 präsen­tiert.

Die Idee zur Perfor­mance bildet ein Wort­ge­fecht zwischen den Philo­so­phen Karl Popper und Ludwig Witt­gen­stein, beide öster­rei­chisch-jüdi­scher Herkunft. Während des Streit­ge­sprächs, das 1946 in Cambridge/​England statt­fand, greift Witt­gen­stein zu einem Schür­haken („poker“ im engl.), um seine Gedanken zu illus­trieren. Popper fühlte sich bedroht.

Tanya Ury verfremdet das real statt­ge­fun­dene Gespräch. Sie nimmt dabei biogra­fi­sche Bezüge von Ludwig Witt­gen­stein und Adolf Hitler auf. Beide sind im öster­rei­chi­schen Linz 1889 geboren, in einem kurzen Abstand von ledig­lich sechs Tagen. Sie besuchten beide die gleiche Schule, mögli­cher­weise sogar die gleiche Klasse. Tanya Ury nimmt den Gedanken der unheim­li­chen Zwil­linge“ auf: Sie verfremdet das Streit­ge­spräch der Philo­so­phen zu einer Inter­ak­tion von Text­aus­zügen aus Adolf Hitlers Mein Kampf“ – dessen Publi­ka­tion und Verbrei­tung in Deutsch­land verboten ist – und aus Ludwig Witt­gen­steins Bemer­kungen über die Farbe“.

Durch die will­kür­liche Auswahl der Texte, die sich nicht aufein­ander beziehen, entsteht eine surreale Aussage: Eine brutale poli­ti­sche Domi­nanz steht einer abstrakten Philo­so­phie der Sprache gegen­über.

Anette Fran­ken­berger, Kura­torin, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, München


Infor­ma­tion

Konzept: Tanya Ury

Schau­spieler: Tanya Ury, Rolf Steiner

Kamera: David Janecek

AVID Edit: Zuhal Er, Karin Sistig, Aron Roos


Präsen­ta­tion

2002 (9.11.) Red Hot Pokers auf Deutsch mit Rolf Steiner Jacob’s Ladder Hoch­bunker Köln-Ehren­feld (D)

2003 (8.12.) Red Hot Pokers Perfor­mance auf Deutsch, mit Marina Grzinic, Wiener Kunst­aka­demie (A)

2003 (9.12.) Red Hot Pokers (Trailer: Video Doku­men­ta­tion) & Einla­dung als Gast­red­nerin, Kunst­haus, 6th Graz Bien­nial für Medien und Archi­tektur (A)

2006 (27.2) Peer Critique, Trailer, Ben Uri Gallery, The London Jewish Museum (GB)

2006 (5.4.) Seminar für profes­sio­nelle Praxis mit Trailer, Kunst­ab­tei­lung, Shef­field Hallam Univer­sity (GB)

2006 (6.4) Trailer präsen­tiert im Seminar für Cathy Gelbin’s PhD. Konfe­renz Kurs: Gender and Visual Arts, Holo­caust Studies (Geschlecht und die Visu­ellen Künste), Royal Holloway, London (D)

2006 (10.5.) Körper­bilder, Seminar mit Trailer, Kunst­verein Dort­mund (D)

2007 (23.3) Auf der online Femi­nist Art Base (Daten­bank für femi­nis­ti­sche Kunst) Video-Trailer The Eliza­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA) www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org…

2007 (6.1116.12) Eröff­nung 5. November, Finis­sage 16. Dezember, Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung Diaspora and Trou­bles von Tanya Ury kura­tiert, Perfor­mance Red Hot Pokers auf Deutsch mit Kristof Szabo, 15 Uhr, 16. Dezember, Kunst­bunker Tumulka, München (D)

www.kunstbunker-tumulk…

www.kunstbunker-tumulk…

Nach oben