Video-instal­la­tion and some printed concrete poetry 

Pomes Penyeach” was the title of James Joyce’s thir­teen-poem collec­tion, written over a twenty-year period (190424).

The title is a play on poems” and pommes” (the French word for apples) which are here offered at a penny each” in either currency. It was the custom for Irish trades­people of the time to offer their customers a tilly” (in Irish, tuil­leadh (= more)) or extra serving – just as English bakers had devel­oped the tradi­tion of the Baker’s dozen”, offering thir­teen loaves instead of twelve. en​.wikipedia​.org/​wiki/…

pommes, the title for my series of poems, which is mostly written in English with parts also in German, is a further play on words — it means chips in German; the expres­sion, a short­ened version of pomme de terre, earth apples was absorbed into the German language from Belgian — the so-called French fries” actu­ally orig­i­nated from Belgium. 

***

Like half dimen­sional poems 2009 – 2011, cement 2011 and weißer neger (white nigger) 2011, pommes is prose poetry, written in English and German. In style and sense these are concrete poems, a collec­tion of jumbled abstract thoughts, misun­der­stood conver­sa­tion and misread text, which, reflect the daily life and tempera­ment of the Jewish artist. This piece, unlike Tanya Ury’s other concrete poetry will however be presented with several actors and thema­tises Jewish iden­tity and life in Germany today.

Tanya Ury

***

Tanya Ury’s written poetry may be regarded as concrete” because of its visual design, and uncon­ven­tional aural effect when spoken — the texts thereby gain in dimen­sion beyond accepted meaning.

2011, Ury created visual images of 17 concrete poems, to be presented online and as print versions (23.532.45 cm), digital image processing Mirco Sanftleben, two of these poems being femi­ninity and femi­nini­a­tion, the rest being part of the series cement, weißer neger (white nigger), concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv and since 2011 Tanya Ury recorded 6 of the more tradi­tional poems (toned poems: 5.54 minutes) to be found in the poetry series, together with Kasander Nilist (double bass, sound and mix), also for the June edition online of Imag­i­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sity of Alberta (CA) with Ury as featured artist.
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)



Presen­ta­tion

2013 (11.7. – 7.9) Righting the Image” — The Liter­a­ture Collec­tion in Cologne (LiK) and the Cologne City Library, present an exhi­bi­tion of Tanya Ury’s work. Opening event — Thursday, 11.7.2013, 8 pm. Intro­duc­tion: Dr. Gabriele Ewenz, Director of the LiK-Archive, with Suspended Beliefs — impro­vised poetry with impro­vised music: Tanya Ury (voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion), Peter Worringer (e‑guitar) 

Scroll to Top

2012-07-182012-12-19 

Video-Instal­la­tion und einige gedrucktes, konkrete Poesie 

Pomes Penyeach” war der Titel einer Reihe von drei­zehn Gedichten, die James Joyce über zwanzig Jahre hinweg, von 1904 – 24, geschrieben hat.

Der Titel ist ein Wort­spiel mit poems“ (Poesie) und pommes” (das fran­zö­si­sche Wort für Äpfel), die hier als ein Penny für jeden“ in beiden Währungen ange­boten werden. Es war seiner­zeit Brauch unter irischen Geschäfts­leuten, ihren Kunden einen Tilly” (auf Irish, Tuil­leadh (= mehr“) dazu­zu­geben, also eine extra Portion – ähnlich entwi­ckelten die engli­schen Bäcker die Tradi­tion des Baker’s dozen” („Bäckers Duzend“) – drei­zehn Brot­laibe wurden für den Preis von zwölf verkauft. (Über­set­zung Tanya Ury & Amin Farza­nefar) en​.wiki​pedia​.org/​wiki/…

pommes, der Titel meiner Gedicht­reihe, die auf Englisch und teil­weise auch auf Deutsch verfasst wurde, ist ein weiteres Wort­spiel, denn Pommes“, das deut­sche Wort für Fritten ist eine verkürzte Version von pomme de terre“ – Erdäp­feln“ – die in die deut­sche Sprache aus dem Belgi­schen aufge­nommen wurde – die so genannten Pommes Frites“ kommen eigent­lich aus Belgien.

Tanya Ury

Das Stück pommes ist, ebenso wie half dimen­sional poems (halb­di­men­sio­nale Gedichte, 2009 – 2011), cement (Befes­tigte Gedichte 2011) und weißer neger (2011) auf Englisch und Deutsch als Gedicht­verse geschrieben. In Stil und Absicht ist es auch konkrete Poesie“, eine Kollek­tion aus durch­ein­ander gewor­fenen, abstrakten Gedanken, miss­ver­stan­dener Unter­hal­tung und falsch gele­senen Texten, die alle zusammen, Alltag und Gemüt der jüdi­schen Künst­lerin reflek­tieren. Aber im Unter­schied zu Tanya Urys anderen Beispielen konkreter Poesie, wird dieses Stück als Perfor­mance mit mehreren Darstel­lern vorge­tragen und schließt an die Themen jüdi­sche Iden­tität und Leben in Deutsch­land heute an.

***

Tanya Urys geschrie­bene Poesie könnte man als konkret“ bezeichnen: wegen des visu­ellen Design beim Betrachten und wegen des unkon­ven­tio­nellen Klangs beim Aufsagen derselben – die Texte gewinnen dadurch Dimen­sionen jenseits der gängigen Wort-Bedeu­tung.

2011 gestal­tete Ury 17 konkrete Gedichte als Bild­ge­dichte“ (sowohl als Online- wie als Druck­fas­sung (23,532,45 cm), Bild­be­ar­bei­tung Mirco Sanft­leben. Zwei dieser Poeme – femi­ninity, femi­ni­nia­tion – erschienen einzeln, die anderen als Teile der Serien cement, weißer neger, concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv und seit 2011 hat Tanya Ury zusammen mit Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass, Ton und Schnitt) auch sechs der eher tradi­tio­nellen Gedichte aus ihrer Poesie-Reihe aufge­zeichnet (toned poems: 5.54 Minuten). Die Aufnahme erscheint Online in der Juni-Edition von Imagi­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sität von Alberta (CA), die sich der Künst­lerin Ury widmet.
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)



Präsen­ta­tion

2013 (11.7. – 7.9) Righ­ting the Image“ – Samm­lung Lite­ratur in Köln (LiK) der Stadt­bi­blio­thek Köln, präsen­tieren eine Ausstel­lung von Tanya Ury. Eröff­nungs­pro­gramm – Donnerstag, 11.7.2013, 20 Uhr. Einfüh­rung: Dr. Gabriele Ewenz, Leiterin des LiK-Archivs, mit Suspended Beliefs – Impro­vi­sierte Gedichte zu impro­vi­sierter Musik: Tanya Ury (Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion), Peter Worringer (E‑Guitarre) 

Nach oben