LED display sign with holo­grams of texts, English and German, 1992

The 12, A4 holo­grams of texts have been framed together in steel frames, in three rows of four, 83cm x 78 cm 

The LED displays a moving message with various combi­na­tions of the three words YOU ARE WHY. The dictum YOU ARE WHY, not only poses the most funda­mental of exis­ten­tial ques­tions but is also word-play — the phonetic spelling of the artist’s name URY, in English.

Accom­pa­nying the sign are twelve holo­graphic pages of quota­tions, framed in rows of three by four. The format emulates the Urim and Thummim, an ancient Jewish oracle. Taking issue with the Word’ of the bible and the name of the father, which have been upheld as Law from time immemo­rial, from Moses until Freud, Tanya Ury attempts to locate her own posi­tion within the Judeo/​Christian tradi­tion.

The word racine (root) has taken on a some­what vulgar tint nowa­days, rubbed in ideolo­gies that have racist conno­ta­tions. We must reduce it to ashes and wait for its rebirth. Then we will hear a very beau­tiful word. I thank Jean Racine, I return to my racines with Racine. The signi­fiers of our great writers work on us; the common proper name, the proper common name affects us, as readers, and espe­cially the one whose name it is. We must all deal with the uncon­scious effects of our proper name. We find this aspect of language’s inter­ven­tion in our destiny on the flesh of our imag­i­na­tion. We work on writers whose names are bearers of textual effects. That doesn’t mean I am attracted by authors whose names are at work in the language but simply that there aren’t any names which don’t produce signi­fying effects. Genet constantly puts his name to work in the French language. Entire works were born from his name. There is corneille (crow) in Corneille’s texts: the bird, the rela­tion to eleva­tion, to flying, to a certain type of bird. If we take up Leviticus again, we will find all kinds of crows. Racine must trans­late the effects of roots (racine) in all his texts, espe­cially the roots (racines); since the proper name belongs to the order of roots, it is the lightest and most intan­gible root we have. It roots us, in language and beyond, without our knowing precisely where. One author whose name was not without signi­fying effects – of which he was perfectly well aware – is Kafka. In German, Kafka means chouca = corneille (crow). He too is a bird. He knows it, plays with it, inscribes it. In Wedding Prepa­ra­tions in the Country and Other Posthu­mous Writ­ings and in the Diaries there are several instances of this type of small apho­risms that work on crows1. It’s magnif­i­cent. The crows main­tain that they can destroy the sky.

The crows main­tain that a single crow could destroy the heavens. There is no doubt about that, but it proves nothing against the heavens, for heaven simply means: the impos­si­bility of crows.2

It’s possible or it’s impos­sible, no one can go and verify. Perhaps that’s what going to the root is, going toward the unver­i­fi­able. As for Clarice Lispector’s name, who could invent a name more promising of light or vision?”3

P. 145 – 146, Three Steps on the Ladder of Writing”, Hélène Cixous, 1993, Columbia Univer­sity Press /​New York, ISBN 0231076592

1 Franz Kafka, Wedding Prepa­ra­tions in the Country and Other Posthu­mous Prose Writ­ings, tr. C, Kaiser and G. Wilkins (New York: Schocken); Diaries 1919 – 1923, tr. Martin Green­berg (London: Mandarin, 1992)

2 Franz Kafka, Wedding Prepa­ra­tions in the Country, p. 51

3 Clarice Lispector (December 10, 1920 – December 9, 1977) was a Brazilian writer. Acclaimed inter­na­tion­ally for her inno­v­a­tive novels and short stories, she was also a jour­nalist. en​.wikipedia​.org/​wiki/…

***

Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)



Presen­ta­tion

1992 – 93 Group exhi­bi­tion, British Telecom New Contem­po­raries on tour, curated by Guy Brett, Derek Jarman & Marina Warner: Orion Newlyn, Corner­house Manchester, Angel Row Nottingham, Orpheus Belfast, ICA London (group) on tour during (GB)
1995 Logo image: YOU ARE WHY in New Femi­nist Crit­i­cism, Katy Deep­well, Manchester Univer­sity Press (GB)
1999 Logo image: YOU ARE WHY in Aufbrüche — Migran­tinnen, Schwarze Frauen und Jüdische Frauen im Kulturellen Diskurs Deutsch­land, Ulrike Helmer Verlag, König­stein 2000 (D)
2004 Logo image: YOU ARE WHY as fron­tispiece for Tanya Ury’s website
2007 (23.3.) On the online Femi­nist Art Base: www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org Logo image: YOU ARE WHY, The Eliz­a­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA)

Infor­ma­tion

Quota­tions in the holo­graphic texts of Moving Message are from:
The Collins English Dictio­nary
A Dictio­nary of World Mythology, Arthur Cotterell 1979, Guild Publishing, Book Club Asso­ciates, London (GB)
Geness 1, New English Bible
The Newly Born Woman, Cixous and Clément, Manchester Univer­sity Press (in trans­la­tion) 1986, ISBN 0 7190 1909 5
Selected Bibli­og­raphy: Karl Schwartz. Lesser Ury, Berlin 1920 (Jewish Arts)
Als Kranken­schwester im KZ There­sien­stadt, Resi Weglein
The Jewish Almanac, ed.Richard Siegel and Carl Rhiens,
Bantam Books 1980, ISBN 0553012657
Moses and Monotheism, Sigmund Freud, The Newly Born Woman, Cixous and Clément,
Manchester Univer­sity Press 1986, ISBN 0 7190 1909 5

Scroll to Top

1992 

LED-Display mit Text-Holo­grammen, englisch und deutsch

Die 12 A4-Holo­gramme der Texte sind gemeinsam in Stahl­rahmen einge­rahmt, in drei Reihen von vier, 83cm x 78 cm 

Die LED-Anzeige zeigt ein Spruch­lauf­band, eine (sich) bewe­gende Botschaft mit verschie­denen Kombi­na­tionen der drei Worte YOU ARE WHY. Der Spruch YOU ARE WHY, stellt nicht nur die funda­men­talste der exis­ten­ti­ellen Fragen, sondern ist auch ein Wort­spiel – die phone­ti­sche Buch­sta­bie­rung des Namens der Künst­lerin: auf Englisch URY.

Das Zeichen begleiten zwölf holo­gra­phi­sche Seiten mit Zitaten, die in drei Reihen a vier einge­rahmt sind. Das Format ahmt das Urim und Thummim, nach das Licht und Recht“, ein uraltes jüdi­sches Orakel. Indem Tanya Ury sich mit dem Wort“ der Bibel und den Namen des Vaters ausein­an­der­setzt, die beide seit unend­li­chen Zeiten, von Moses bis Freud, als Gesetz hoch­ge­halten wurden, versucht sie ihre eigene Posi­tion inner­halb der jüdisch-christ­li­chen Tradi­tion zu finden.

Das Wort racine (Wurzel) hat heut­zu­tage teil­weise eine vulgäre Bedeu­tung bekommen, inner­halb von Ideo­lo­gien, die rassis­ti­sche Konno­ta­tionen beinhalten. Wir müssen es in Asche verwan­deln und auf seine Wieder­ge­burt warten. Dann werden wir ein wunder­schönes Wort hören. Ich danke Jean Racine, Ich kehre zu meine racines zurück mit Racine. Die Signi­fi­kanten unserer großen Schrift­steller sind am Werk; der gemeine Eigen­name, der rich­tige gebräuch­liche Name betrifft uns, als Lese­rInnen und beson­ders dieje­nigen, deren Name es ist. Wir müssen uns alle mit der unbe­wussten Wirkung unseres Eigen­namen beschäf­tigen. Wir finden diesen Aspekt der Inter­ven­tion der Sprache in unser Schicksal im Fleisch unserer Fantasie. Wir arbeiten an Schrift­stel­lern, deren Name Inhaber von inhalt­li­cher Wirkung sind. Das bedeutet nicht, dass ich zu Autoren hinge­zogen werde, deren Namen in der Sprache arbeiten, sondern, dass es einfach keine Namen gibt, die nicht bedeut­same Wirkungen produ­zieren. Genet lies seinen Namen immer wieder für ihn in die fran­zö­si­sche Sprache arbeiten. Ganze Arbeiten wurden aus seinem Namen geboren. Es gibt corn­eille (die Krähe) in Corn­eilles Texten: den Vogel, den Bezug zu Erhe­bung, zum fliegen, zu einer bestimmten Art Vogel. Wenn wir wieder Levi­ticus aufnehmen, finden wir viel­fäl­tige Sorten von Krähen. Racine muss die Wirkung von Wurzeln (racine) in all seinen Texten über­setzen, vor allem die Wurzeln (racine): weil der Eigen­name zur Ordnung der Wurzeln gehört, ist er die leich­teste und am wenigsten fass­bare Wurzel, die wir haben. Er verwur­zelt uns in der Sprache und darüber hinaus, ohne dass wir verstehen, wo genau. Ein Autor, dessen Name nicht ohne bedeut­same Wirkung war – von der ganz genau wusste – ist Kafka. Auf Deutsch bedeutet Kafka chouca = corn­eille (Krähe). Auch er ist ein Vogel. Er weißt es, spielt damit, verschriftet es. In Hoch­zeits­vor­be­rei­tungen auf dem Lande und Posthum Erschie­nene Werken und in den Tage­bü­chern gibt es mehrere Beispiel dieser Art von kleinen Apho­rismen, die sich auf Krähen beziehen.1 Es ist groß­artig. Die Krähen behaupten, dass sie den Himmel zerstören könnten.

Die Krähen behaupten, eine einzige Krähe könnte den Himmel zerstören. Das ist zwei­fellos, beweist aber nichts gegen den Himmel, denn Himmel bedeutet eben: Unmög­lich­keit von Krähen.2

Es ist möglich, oder es ist unmög­lich – niemand kann es über­prüfen. Viel­leicht ist das, was die Wurzel der Dinge bedeutet – das nicht nach­prüf­bare. Sowie für Clarice Lispec­tors Name, wer hätte einen Namen erfinden können, der mehr Licht oder Vision verheißt?”3

S. 145 – 146, Three Steps on the Ladder of Writing” (Drei Stufen auf der Leiter des Schrei­bens), Hélène Cixous, 1993, Columbia Univer­sity Press /​New York, ISBN 0231076592 Über­set­zung Tanya Ury & Amin Farza­nefar

1 Franz Kafka, Wedding Prepa­ra­tions in the Country and Other Post­hu­mous Prose Writings (Hoch­zeits­vor­be­rei­tungen auf dem Lande und Posthum Erschie­nene Werke), Über­set­zung C. Kaiser und G. Wilkins (New York: Scho­cken); Diaries 1919 – 1923 (Tage­bü­cher 1919 – 1923), Über­set­zung Martin Green­berg (London: Mandarin, 1992)

2 Franz Kafka, Hoch­zeits­vor­be­rei­tungen auf dem Lande, S. 51

3 Clarice Lispector (* 10. Dezember 1920, nach anderen Quellen 1925 in Tsche­tschelnyk, Ukraine; † 9. Dezember 1977 in Rio de Janeiro) war eine brasi­lia­ni­sche Schrift­stel­lerin. Sie schrieb Romane, Kurz­ge­schichten und Kinder­bü­cher. de​.wiki​pedia​.org/​wiki/…

***

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)



Präsen­ta­tion

1992 – 93 Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung, British Telecom New Contem­pora­ries auf tour, kura­tiert von Guy Brett, Derek Jarman & Marina Warner: Orion Newlyn, Corn­er­house Manchester, Angel Row Nottingham, Orpheus Belfast, ICA London (GB)
1995 LED-Logo o.ä.: YOU ARE WHY in New Femi­nist Criti­cism, Katy Deep­well, Manchester Univer­sity Press (GB)
1999 LED-Logo o.ä.: YOU ARE WHY in Aufbrüche – Migran­tinnen, Schwarze Frauen und Jüdi­sche Frauen im Kultu­rellen Diskurs Deutsch­land, Ulrike Helmer Verlag, König­stein 2000 (D)
2004 LED-Logo o.ä.: YOU ARE WHY als Titel­bild von Tanya Urys Website
2007 (23.3) Auf der online Femi­nist Art Base (Daten­bank für femi­nis­ti­sche Kunst) www​.brook​lyn​mu​seum​.org LED-Logo o.ä.: YOU ARE WHY, The Eliza­beth A. Sackler Center for Femi­nist Art, The Brooklyn Museum, New York (USA)

Infor­ma­tion

Zitate der holo­gra­phi­schen Texte des Kunst­werks Moving Message sind aus:
The Collins English Dictionary
A Dictionary of World Mytho­logy, Arthur Cotterell 1979, Guild Publi­shing, Book Club Asso­ciates, London (GB)
Geness 1, New English Bible
The Newly Born Woman, Cixous and Clément, Manchester Univer­sity Press (in trans­la­tion) 1986, ISBN 0 7190 1909 5
Selected Biblio­graphy: Karl Schwartz. Lesser Ury, Berlin 1920 (Jewish Arts)
Als Kran­ken­schwester im KZ There­si­en­stadt, Resi Weglein
The Jewish Almanac, ed. Richard Siegel and Carl Rhiens, Bantam Books 1980 ISBN 0553012657
Moses and Mono­theism, Sigmund Freud, zitiert in: The Newly Born Woman, Cixous and Clément, Manchester Univer­sity Press 1986, ISBN 0 7190 1909 5

Nach oben