A photo­graph sealed under plex­i­glass and mounted (MDF), height 96 cm x width 64 cm (edition of 7)
(Edition of 7: height 48 cm x width 32 cm))

Insur­ance value 2,000 Euro

Concept Tanya Ury

Camera David Janecek 

Digital image processing Claudia Stasch

Double Portraits — a collec­tion of works:

The artwork doo bee doo features a photo­graphic image of the artist Tanya Ury placed under the picture of an Albert Einstein double (who doesn’t much resemble Einstein) from the German media campaign Du bist Deutsch­land” (You are Germany) of 2005. Ury mimics the Einstein pose of the poster, by leaning a furrowed brow onto her left hand. Her image also copies that of the poster in that it is cut off at the lower half of the mouth.


more

Du bist Deutsch­land” was an initia­tive of Part­ners for Inno­va­tion” coör­di­nated by the Bertels­mann AG and involved 25 media compa­nies. The campaign ran from the end of September 2005 till January 2006. With its TV spots, posters and a budget of ca 30 million Euros, its aim was to inspire posi­tive feel­ings about the country, prin­ci­pally for the general elec­tion of 2nd October 2005.

2005 was also cele­brated in Germany as Einstein Year, the 50ieth anniver­sary of the death of the Nobel Prize winner (18791955). For this occa­sion, the Berlin Town Hall was deco­rated with an Einstein quote from a letter of 1920 that commem­o­rated the erst­while famous citizen of the city:

Berlin is the place, where, because of personal and acad­emic friend­ships, I felt most at home…”

In 1933 Einstein, who was Jewish, had to flee Germany to the USA.

Even after 1945 Albert Einstein didn’t want to have anything to do with the land of his origin. He never saw Germany or Berlin again. His abhor­rence of every­thing German that devel­oped into an irrec­on­cil­able hate (The Private Lives of Albert Einstein, Roger High­field and Paul Carter, 1994) remained unal­tered till his death: He made it clear that he didn’t want to have anything to do with the country of his birth, the inhabi tants of which, he didn’t distin­guish as being less guilty of the massacre of the Jews than Hitler. The intel­lec­tuals behaved as badly as the mass, with the excep­tion of only a handful of his closest colleagues, he said. He was convinced that the Germans were the cruellest race on earth; according to him they have the mentality of gang­sters and have demon­strated no indi­ca­tion of regret for the years of mass murder…”.

Albert Einstein cannot make a stand against the shameful posthu­mous rein­ter­pre­ta­tion of his long obso­lete letter now cited on the red town hall.’
Dr. Dr. honoris causa Klaus-Hein­rich Standke, Berlin-Zehlen­dorf, Director of Science and Tech­nology at the United Nations ausser Dienst (not currently employed)
www​.berlin​.de/​R​B​m​S​K​z​l​/​R​a​t​h​a​u​s​a​k​t​u​e​l​l​/​a​r​c​h​i​v​/​24139​/​i​n​d​e​x​.html
(Trans­la­tion from German Tanya Ury)

***

In Germany today, this notion of promi­nent’ Jews has not yet been forgotten. While the veterans and other priv­i­leged groups are no longer mentioned, the fate of famous’ Jews is still deplored at the expense of all others. There are more than a few people, espe­cially among the cultural élite, who still publicly regret the fact that Germany sent Einstein packing, without real­izing that it was a much greater crime to kill little Hans Cohn from around the corner, even though he was no genius.” Page 84, Eich­mann and the Holo­caust, extract from Eich­mann in Jerusalem, Hannah Arendt 1963, published by Penguin Books, Great Ideas, 2005 (GB)

***

Einstein was born in Ulm, as were Tanya Ury’s Jewish grand­par­ents Sigmar and Hedwig (neé Ullmann) Ury, who fell victim to the Nazis. The second-gener­a­tion artist Ury, born in London, acquired dual-nation­ality in 1993, the year when she also moved to live and work in Germany.

Text to the poster: Du bist Albert Einstein (You are Albert Einstein). (Photo: Tobias Gerber, Bilder­berg, ©2005) that was widely distrib­uted in Germany 2005:

You are Albert Einstein

You think that your devel­op­ment is slower than everyone else’s? Rela­tively funny. That’s what Albert Einstein said of himself. The late devel­oper” was later to win the Nobel Prize.
You really don’t need to under­stand what E=mc2 means. But one thing you should know is that to under­es­ti­mate your­self doesn’t bring anything. If you give it all you’ve got, on the other had, you can reach for the stars — in Albert’s case that was quite liter­ally.
You are Germany.

A deutscher Medien (German Media) action under the initia­tive of Part­ners for Inno­va­tion.” www​.du​-bist​-deutsch​land​.de
(Trans­la­tion from German Tanya Ury)

English Text on Tanya Ury’s photo­graphic image:

I am Albert Einstein

Am I slow? Now they’re adver­tising German patri­o­tism in my name. Not funny. I may have been a Nobel Prize winner but back then I had to flee the country, for my life.
You really don’t need to under­stand what E=mc2 means. But one thing you should know is your history. Don’t be starry-eyed about false respect and poorly researched spin.
Du bist Deutsch­land?
doo, bee, doo, bee, doo

***

Doo bee doo” is the sound made by bored people to fill silence, most often in textual commu­ni­ca­tion, but some­times verbal. It orig­i­nates from people whistling or singing a little tune when idle.

Witti­cism from the 60’s:

To do is to be — Descartes
To be is to do — Sartre
Doo, bee, doo, bee, doo — Sinatra


zelos​.zeit​.de/​b​i​l​der/o…

…At the core of the (Du bist Deutsch­land) campaign was a so-called mani­festo, that was also central to the adver­tise­ments. The spots that were up to two minutes long, presented chiefly German celebri­ties at histor­ical scenes in the coun­try­side or city. They illus­trated the campaign slogan Du bist Deutsch­land (You are Germany) in various ways: You are the Wonder of Germany”, You are the Tree”, and simi­larly with sayings and metaphors like, for example, Your willpower is like fire in the belly” that were to bring about posi­tive feel­ings, impress and sweep the spec­tator away.

…Many critics appeared on the scene because the campaign was aimed at indi­vid­uals as members of a nation-state. They argued that this was a nation­al­istic posi­tion similar to nation­alist thinking patterns of National Socialism. As supporting evidence, compa­rable National Socialist slogans were mentioned:

It is a fact that the National Social­ists employed a slogan, directed at Hitler, however: Denn Du bist Deutsch­land” (Because, you are Germany) at a rally in 1935 on the Ludwigsplatz in Ludwigshafen. This is illus­trated in the book Ludwigshafen — Ein Jahrhun­dert in Bildern” (Ludwigshafen — a Hundred Years in Pictures” of the Ludwigshafen on Rhine City Archives, 1999 (ISBN 3924667292). The sentence is posi­tioned over a large portrait of Hitler. The renowned histo­rians Hans Mommsen and Hans-Ulrich Wehler consid­ered the (Du bist Deutsch­land) campaign was never­the­less not fraught. The slogan can be found in altered form within the film Triumph des Willens” (Triumph of the Will) by Leni Reifen­stahl, with the words: Sie sind Deutsch­land! You (plural) are Germany (as opposed to the singular form of the campaign)”.’ de​.wikipedia​.org/​wiki/…

(Trans­la­tion from German Tanya Ury)




Presen­ta­tion

2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Group exhi­bi­tion, opening 12 am, Jewish Cultural Days, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum (Old Museum in the BIS Centre), Moenchenglad­bach (D)



Publi­ca­tions & Press

The Power of Femi­ninity – Hubertus Wunschik has assem­bled an enor­mous range of art for a group exhi­bi­tion of inter­na­tional artists in the Alten Museum (Old Museum). The exhi­bi­tion Connected” combines the works of Jewish and non-Jewish prove­nance.

By Dirk Richerdt – Saturday 10th March 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

A glance directly inside the entrance to the bour­geois town house falls on the photo montages of Tanya Ury. The 55 year-old Jewish artist, born in London and living in Cologne since 1993, has created a series of dialogic self-portraits: one sees Ury together with antecedents, including the German impres­sionist painter Lesser Ury and the German Jewish writer Else Sara Ury. And then Albert Einstein turns up. Although she is not related to the scien­tist, Tanya Ury’s picture of the pipe-smoking researcher together with the artist, holding a (pipe) in the same manner, has a bizarre aura.

A humorous edge flashes up directly with the seri­ously intended repre­sen­ta­tion of personal history. Tanya Ury’s photos sealed under plex­i­glass there­fore lend the exhi­bi­tion a certain relief from earnest themes…”

(Trans­la­tion from German T.U.)

***

2008 (11) doo bee doo discussed in article on Tanya Ury (in German) by Hartmut Bomhoff with image of doo bee doo, Jüdische Zeitung (monthly), Berlin (D) article as PDF

Scroll to Top

2007

Eine mit Plexi­glas verschweißte und montierte (MDF) Photo­gra­phie: Höhe 96 cm x Breite 64 cm (Edition 7)
(Edition 7: Höhe 48 cm x Breite 32 cm)

Versi­che­rungs­wert 2.000 Euro

Konzept Tanya Ury

Kamera David Janecek

Digi­tale Bear­bei­tung Claudia Stasch


Doppel-Porträts – Eine Werk­serie:

Die Kunst­ar­beit doo bee doo zeigt eine photo­gra­phi­sche Abbil­dung der Künst­lerin Tanya Ury plat­ziert unter dem Bild eines Albert-Einstein-Doubles (welches Einstein nur wenig ähnelt) aus der deut­schen Medi­en­kam­pagne Du bist Deutsch­land“ von 2005. Ury ahmt die Einstein-Pose nach, indem sie ihren Kopf mit gerun­zelter Stirn in der linken Hand aufstützt. Sie kopiert auch den Bild­aus­schnitt des Plakates, der am unteren Teil des Mundes abge­schnitten ist.


mehr

Du bist Deutsch­land“ war eine Initia­tive der Partner für Inno­va­tion“, ins Leben gerufen von 25 Medi­en­un­ter­nehmen und koor­di­niert von der Bertels­mann AG. Diese Kampagne lief von Ende September 2005 bis Januar 2006. Ziel war es, mit TV-Spots, Plakaten und einem Budget von ca. 30 Millionen Euro posi­tive Gefühle für das Land zu hervor­zu­rufen, insbe­son­dere anläss­lich der Bundes­wahl vom 2. Oktober 2005.

2005 wurde auch in Deutsch­land als Einstein­jahr begangen, zum 50. Todestag des Nobel­preis­trä­gers (18791955). Anläss­lich dessen schmückte man das Berliner Rathaus mit einem Einstein-Zitat aus einem Brief aus dem Jahr 1920 das an den eins­tigen großen Bürger der Stadt erin­nerte:

Berlin ist die Stätte, mit der ich durch mensch­liche und wissen­schaft­liche Bezie­hungen am meisten verwachsen bin…“.

1933 musste der jüdi­sche Einstein aus Deutsch­land in die USA flüchten.

Albert Einstein hat auch nach 1945 mit dem Land seiner Herkunft nichts mehr zu tun haben wollen. Deutsch­land und Berlin hat er nie wieder gesehen. Seine Abscheu vor allem Deut­schen, die sich zum unver­söhn­li­chen Hass stei­gern sollte (Roger High­field und Paul Carter, Die geheimen Leben des Albert Einstein, 1994) hielt bis zu seinem Tod unver­min­dert an: Er machte klar, dass er nichts mehr mit seinem Geburts­land zu tun haben wollte, dessen Einwohner er unter­schiedslos für das Massaker an den Juden unter Hitler für schuldig befand. Die Intel­lek­tu­ellen hätten sich so schlecht verhalten wie die Massen, sagte er, und er nahm nur wenige seiner engsten Kollegen davon aus. Er war zu der Über­zeu­gung gekommen, die Deut­schen seien die grau­samste Rasse der Erde; sie hätten die Menta­lität von Gangs­tern und zeigten, so behaup­tete er, keine Anzei­chen von Reue für die Jahre des Massen­mords…“.

Gegen die beschä­mende post­hume Umdeu­tung seines längst obso­leten Brief­zi­tats am Roten Rathaus kann sich Albert Einstein nicht mehr zur Wehr setzen.‘

Dr. Dr. h.c. Klaus-Hein­rich Standke, Berlin-Zehlen­dorf, Direktor für Wissen­schaft und Tech­no­logie bei den Vereinten Nationen a.D.

www​.berlin​.de/​R​B​m​S​K​z​l​/​R​a​t​h​a​u​s​a​k​t​u​e​l​l​/​a​r​c​h​i​v​/​24139​/​i​n​d​e​x​.html

***

Noch heute ist in Deutsch­land die Vorstel­lung von den promi­nenten’ Juden nicht verschwunden. Während die Kriegs­teil­nehmer und andere privi­le­gierte Gruppen nicht mehr erwähnt werden, beklagt man das Schicksal promi­nenter’ oder berühmter’ Juden immer noch auf Kosten aller anderen. Es gibt nicht wenige, beson­ders unter den Gebil­deten, die heute noch öffent­lich die Tatsache beklagen, dass Deutsch­land Einstein aus dem Lande gejagt hat – ohne zu begreifen, ein wie viel größeres Verbre­chen es war, Häns­chen Cohn von nebenan zu töten, auch wenn er kein Genie war.“ S. 230, Eich­mann in Jeru­salem, Ein Bericht von der Bana­lität des Bösen, Hanna Arendt 1963, Über­set­zung aus dem Ameri­ka­ni­schem von Brigitte Granzow 1964, Piper Verlag, 2006 (D)

***

Einstein wurde in Ulm geboren, so wie Sigmar und Hedwig (geb. Ullmann), die jüdi­schen Groß­el­tern von Tanya Ury, die Opfer der Nazis wurden. In 1993 erhielt Ury, die in London in der zweiten Genera­tion geboren wurde, die doppelte-Staats­bür­ger­schaft und wanderte im selben Jahr nach Deutsch­land aus, um hier zu leben und arbeiten.

Text zum Plakat: Du bist Albert Einstein. (Foto: Tobias Gerber, Bilder­berg, ©2005), dass in Deutsch­land 2005 verbreitet wurde:

Du bist Albert Einstein

Du denkst, du entwi­ckelst dich lang­samer als alle anderen? Relativ witzig. Das hat Albert Einstein auch von sich gesagt. Später gewann der Zurück­ge­blie­bene“ den Nobel­preis.

Was E=mc2 bedeutet, muss man wirk­lich nicht begreifen. Aber eins schon: Sich zu unter­schätzen bringt nichts. Wer dagegen alles aus sich heraus­holt, kann nach den Sternen greifen – in Alberts Fall sogar im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes.

Du bist Deutsch­land.

Eine Aktion deut­scher Medien im Rahmen der Initia­tive Partner für Inno­va­tion.“

www​.du​-bist​-deutsch​land​.de

Über­set­zung des engli­schen Textes zu Tanya Ury’s Photo­mon­tage:

Ich bin Albert Einstein

Bin ich langsam? Sie bewerben deut­schen Patrio­tismus in meinem Namen. Gar nicht witzig. Mag sein, dass ich Nobel­preis­träger war, aber damals musste ich das Land unter Lebens­ge­fahr verlassen

Was E=mc2 bedeutet, muss man wirk­lich nicht begreifen. Aber eins schon: die Geschichte. Wisch Dir die Sterne von den Augen, von falschen Respekt und schlecht recher­chierter Agita­tion.

Du bist Deutsch­land?

doo, bee, doo, bee, doo

***

Doo bee doo“ ist der Ton, der von gelang­weilten Menschen gemacht wird, um das Schweigen auszu­füllen, meis­tens in text­li­cher Kommu­ni­ka­tion, aber manchmal verbal. Es stammt von Menschen, die eine kleine Melodie pfeifen oder singen während sie untätig sind.

Weis­heit aus den 60ern:

To do is to be – Descartes

To be is to do – Sartre

Doo, bee, doo, bee, doo – Sinatra


zelos​.zeit​.de/​b​i​l​der/o…

Im Kern der (Du bist Deutsch­land) Kampagne stand ein soge­nanntes Mani­fest, das gleich­zeitig auch im Zentrum des Werbe­spots war. Die bis zu zwei Minuten langen Spots zeigten größ­ten­teils promi­nente Menschen an histo­ri­schen, land­schaft­li­chen und urbanen Schau­plätzen. Diese trugen den Slogan der Kampagne Du bist Deutsch­land in verschie­denen Varia­tionen vor: Du bist das Wunder von Deutsch­land“, Du bist der Baum“, sowie Sinn­sprüche und Meta­phern wie zum Beispiel Dein Wille ist wie Feuer unterm Hintern“, die posi­tive Gefühle auslösen und den Zuschauer spontan begeis­tern und mitreißen sollen…

…Viele Kritiker wurden auf den Plan gerufen, weil die Kampagne den Einzelnen als Mitglied eines Natio­nal­staats ansprach. Sie argu­men­tierten dies sei eine natio­na­lis­ti­sche Haltung und würde Nähe zu den natio­na­lis­ti­schen Denk­mus­tern des Natio­nal­so­zia­lismus aufweisen. Als Beleg wurden ähnliche natio­nal­so­zia­lis­ti­sche Parolen ange­geben:

Tatsäch­lich nutzten die Natio­nal­so­zia­listen die – aller­dings auf Adolf Hitler gemünzte – Parole Denn Du bist Deutsch­land“ während einer Kund­ge­bung 1935 auf dem Ludwigs­platz in Ludwigs­hafen. Abge­bildet ist dies in dem Buch Ludwigs­hafen – Ein Jahr­hun­dert in Bildern“ des Stadt­ar­chivs Ludwigs­hafen am Rhein von 1999 (ISBN 3924667292). Den Satz über­ragt ein großes Hitler­por­trät. Die renom­mierten Histo­riker Hans Mommsen und Hans-Ulrich Wehler sahen die Kampagne dennoch nicht als belastet an. In abge­wan­delter Form ist der Slogan auch zu finden in dem Film Triumph des Willens“ von Leni Riefen­stahl auf: Sie sind Deutsch­land!“.‘

de​.wiki​pedia​.org/​wiki/…




Präsen­ta­tion

2007 (11.3. – 9.4.) Connected, Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung, Eröff­nung 12 Uhr, Jüdi­sche Kultur­tage, Altes Museum im BIS-Zentrum Mönchen­glad­bach (D)



Publi­ka­tionen & Presse

Die Kraft der Weib­lich­keit – Eine enorme Band­breite von Kunst hat Hubertus Wunschik in einer Grup­pen­aus­stel­lung inter­na­tio­naler Künstler im Alten Museum versam­melt. Die Ausstel­lung Connected“ verbindet Werke jüdi­scher und nicht-jüdi­scher Prove­nienz.

Von Dirk Richerdt – Samstag 10. März 2007 RHEINISCHE POST

Einen Blick­fang schon im Entrée des Bürger­hauses bilden die Foto­mon­tagen von Tanya Ury. Die 55-jährige jüdi­sche Künst­lerin, in London geboren, die seit 1993 in Köln lebt, hat eine Serie dialo­gi­scher Selbst­por­träts geschaffen: Zu sehen ist Ury zusammen mit ihren Vorfahren, darunter der deut­sche impres­sio­nis­ti­sche Maler Lesser Ury und die deutsch-jüdi­sche Schrift­stel­lerin Else Sara Ury. Und dann taucht Albert Einstein auf. Mit dem Wissen­schaftler ist Tanya Ury zwar nicht verwandt, aber das Bild mit dem Pfeife schmau­chenden Forscher und der Künst­lerin daneben, die in glei­cher Art wie Einstein eine (Pfeife) hält, hat skur­rile Ausstrah­lung. Direkt neben der ernst gemeinten Darstel­lung persön­li­cher Geschichte blitzt die Humo­reske auf. Tanya Urys mit Plexi­glas verschweißte Fotos nehmen der Ausstel­lung so eine gewisse Ernst­las­tig­keit…“

***

2008 (11) Über doo bee doo wird in einem Artikel über Tanya Ury von Hartmut Bomhoff in der monat­lich erschei­nenden Jüdi­schen Zeitung” Berlin disku­tiert (D) Artikel als PDF

Nach oben