Video projec­tion (German), 18.10 minutes Analogue Beta SP, PAL 4:3 Price 200 Euros Video­cas­sette (VHS copy) or DVD


Jacob’s Ladder – a collec­tion of works:

This video projec­tion features a woman, Maria Amman, who is looking for a contact lens that she has lost on the pave­ment. She has only one good eye to search with and asks for assis­tance from bystanders on the street. The loca­tion is outside the town hall in Cologne. A couple have just been married and on the ground between the cobble­stones, glit­tering confetti are mistak­enly thought to be the lost lens. Various plaques and street signs in the vicinity enlighten that this used to be the Jewish quarter, report the mass destruc­tion of the Romany people in German concen­tra­tion camps and more recently a commem­o­ra­tive inscrip­tion of the inter­na­tional summit meeting in Cologne, 1999 cele­brating the end of the Balkan war and peace.

***

Post Script 2008

An unusual outcome of the bombing of Cologne during the Second World War was the discovery of the remains of a syna­gogue in the vicinity of the Town Hall. The ruins date back to circa 1170, but it is believed that there were three former Houses of God built in the same area over the centuries; a Jewish commu­nity in Cologne was first mentioned in archival docu­ments, in the year 321 – making it the oldest this side of the Alps. At the outbreak of the Plague in 1348 – 1349 the entire Jewish Commu­nity was wiped out in a pogrom – claims were made that they had poisoned the water in the wells of Cologne.

In the 1950’s only the Mikve (ritual bath) was exposed. But proposals to build a Jewish Museum on this spot have been underway since the year 2000. In spring 2008, after exca­va­tions of the Roman ruins and Middle Ages syna­gogue had commenced, discus­sions turned into contro­ver­sial public disputes — whether a house of Jewish culture should be built in the area outside the Cologne Town Hall, to house the ruin of the syna­gogue, or some­where else. According to mayor Schramma:
“’Owing to the massive­ness and the large area it would cover’ he viewed the design for the intended loca­tion in front of the histor­ical Town Hall scep­ti­cally. The neigh­bouring Wallraf Richartz Museum, would be obscured by the planned construc­tion, the façade of the Town hall and the Rathaus Square would more­over be obstructed’, he states in City of Cologne press state­ment.” (Trans­la­tion from German T.U.)
www​.wdr​.de/​t​h​e​m​e​n​/​k​u​l​t​u​r​/​3​/​m​u​s​e​u​m​_​j​u​e​d​i​s​c​h​e​_​k​u​l​t​u​r​_​k​o​e​l​n​/​i​n​d​e​x​.​jhtml

There is further­more, a dilemma regarding the financing of the project: the exca­va­tion of the ruins could be completed with state funding by 2010. But the extent of time required for the Museum’s construc­tion remains an unknown because spon­sor­ship, circa 10 to 15 million Euros, has still to be raised from private sources.


Trailer 3:45 minutes

Infor­ma­tion

Woman: Maria Amman
Concept and Direc­tion: Tanya Ury
Cameras: Oliver Galuba, Tanya Ury
Tech­nical Assis­tance: Michael Dudek
AVID edit: Zuhal Er, Karin Sistig
AVID edit trailer (3:45 Minutes) 2009: Rainer Nelissen


Presen­ta­tion

2002 (11.10. – 10.11.) Jacob’s Ladder, Solo exhi­bi­tion, Hochbunker Cologne-Ehren­feld (D)
2009 (9.1) Solo screening in the series Jewish Impres­sions”, 8pm Arkadas Theater, Bühne der Kulturen (Stages of Diverse Cultures) Cologne (D)
www.buehnederkulturen.…
www​.ksta​.de/​h​t​m​l​/​artik…

Scroll to Top

2002

Video­pro­jek­tion (Deutsch)
18.10 Minuten
Analog Beta SP, PAL 4:3

Preis 200 Euro Video­cas­sette (VHS copy) oder DVD


Jacob’s Ladder – Eine Werk­serie:

Das Video zeigt eine Frau, Maria Amman, die ihre Kontakt­linse auf dem Pflaster vor dem Kölner Rathaus sucht. Da ihre Sehkraft auf dem einen Auge geschwächt ist, bittet sie Passanten um Hilfe. Ein Paar hat soeben gehei­ratet. Glit­zernde Konfetti, die zwischen den Pflas­ter­steinen verstreut sind, werden irrtüm­lich für die verlo­rene Linse gehalten. Aus verschie­denen Tafeln und Schilder in der Umge­bung geht hervor, dass dies einmal das jüdi­sche Viertel war. Sie infor­mieren über die Vernich­tung der Roma und Sinti Völker in deut­schen Konzen­tra­ti­ons­la­gern. Ein weiteres Schild erin­nert an ein poli­ti­sches Gipfel­treffen 1999 in Köln, auf dem das Ende des Balkan­kriegs und der zukünf­tige Friede gefeiert wurde.

***

Post Scriptum 2008

Ein unge­wöhn­li­ches Ergebnis der Bomben­an­griffe auf Köln im Zweiten Welt­krieg war die Entde­ckung von Relikten einer Synagoge in der Nähe des Rathauses. Diese Ruinen stammen aus der Zeit von ca. 1170, aber man glaubt, dass hier über die Jahr­hun­derte hinweg drei Gottes­häuser errichtet wurden; die älteste jüdi­sche Gemeinde in Köln ist urkund­lich für das Jahr 321 nach­ge­wiesen, was sie zur ältesten dies­seits der Alpen machen würde. Als 1348 – 1349 die Pest ausbrach, fiel die gesamte jüdi­sche Gemeinde einem Pogrom zum Opfer – man behaup­tete, sie hätte das Wasser in Kölner Brunnen vergiftet.

In den 1950er Jahre war nur die Mikwe (Ritu­albad) frei­ge­legt worden. Aber seit 2000 wird der Bau eines Jüdi­schen Museums an diesem Ort geplant. Im Früh­jahr 2008, nachdem die Ausgra­bungen der römi­schen Ruinen und der mittel­al­ter­li­chen Synagoge begonnen hatten, entbrannte eine öffent­li­chen Kontro­verse darüber – ob in der Nähe des Kölner Rathauses, ein Haus der Jüdi­schen Kulturen“ in die Nähe des Kölner Rathauses, um herum die Synago­gen­ruinen gebaut werden solle – um die Synago­gen­ruinen herum oder anderswo. Bürger­meister Schrammas Meinung hierzu:

‚Aufgrund der Massi­vität und der großen Flächen­aus­deh­nung’ betrachte er den Entwurf für die vorge­se­hene Stelle vor dem histo­ri­schen Rathaus mit Skepsis. Das angren­zende Wallraf-Rich­artz-Museum würde mit dem geplanten Bau verstellt, die Fassade des Rathauses und auch der Rathaus­platz würden über­dies verbaut’, heißt es in einer Pres­se­mit­tei­lung der Stadt Köln.“ www​.wdr​.de/​t​h​e​m​e​n​/​k​u​l​t​u​r​/​3​/​m​u​s​e​u​m​_​j​u​e​d​i​s​c​h​e​_​k​u​l​t​u​r​_​k​o​e​l​n​/​i​n​d​e​x​.​jhtml

Es gibt weiterhin ein Dilemma, was die Finan­zie­rung des Projektes angeht: Die Ausgra­bung der Ruinen, könnte mit Landes­fi­nan­zie­rung schon 2010 abge­schlossen sein. Aber der Zeit­rahmen der Museums-Errich­tung bleibt offen, weil Spon­so­ren­gelder in Höhe von 10 bis 15 Millionen Euro noch aus privaten Quellen gefunden werden müssen.


Trailer 3:45 Minuten

Infor­ma­tion

Frau: Maria Amman

Konzept und Regie: Tanya Ury

Kameras: Oliver Galuba, Tanya Ury

Tech­ni­sche Assis­tenz: Michael Dudek

AVID Edit: Zuhal Er, Karin Sistig

AVID Edit trailer (3:45 Minuten) 2009: Rainer Nelissen


Präsen­ta­tion

2002 (11.10. – 10.11.) Jacob’s Ladder, Einzel­aus­stel­lung, Hoch­bunker Köln-Ehren­feld (D)

2009 (1.9) Einzel­aus­stel­lung in der Reihe Jüdi­sche Impres­sionen“, 20 Uhr, Arkadas Theater, Bühne der Kulturen, Köln (D)

www.buehnederkulturen.…

www​.ksta​.de/​h​t​m​l​/​artik…

Nach oben