A video docu­men­ta­tion of the perfor­mance concert archive burn out, filmed and edited by Freya Hatten­berger on 10th April in the Nazi Docu­men­ta­tion Centre, Cologne, with Suspended Beliefs”, poetry and textwith impro­vised music: Tanya Ury (voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion), can be seen here: Docu­men­ta­tion: 46:06 minutes: vimeo​.com/​112831445 Trailer: 6:51 minutes: vimeo​.com/​112828403 8:30 minutes: vimeo​.com/​112828985

Tanya Ury has devel­oped archive burn out, a spoken text, to be presented together with the impro­vising musi­cians of Suspended Beliefs: Gernot Bogumil trumpet, Kasander Nilist double bass, Hans Salz percus­sion. Each of four parts: the gath­erers, the library, anti gone and burn out depict various stages in the devel­op­ment and even­tual collapse of an archive. The inclu­sion of a video-clip about the book burning in 1933 by the Nazis, in the context of this piece that refer­ences the collapse of the Histor­ical Archive of the City of Cologne, five years after it’s occur­rence, connects the two events.

The impro­vised music keeps to a struc­ture that inte­grates various concepts – an African rhythm of the Ewe people is recre­ated for example. East Asian sounds are also created with a penta­tonic scale. Jazz-like and the more abstract sounds of new music, as well as a chorale-like element, form part of the impro­vised score, to suggest diver­sity and inclu­sion, in the accu­mu­la­tion of an archive, before it fails because of censor­ship or care­less­ness.
If Freud suffered from mal d’archive, if his case stems from a trouble de l’archive, he is not without his place, simul­ta­ne­ously, in the archive fever or disorder we are expe­ri­encing today, concerning its lightest symp­toms or the great holo­caustic tragedies of our modern history and histo­ri­og­raphy: concerning all the detestable revi­sionisms, as well as the most legit­i­mate, neces­sary, and coura­geous rewrit­ings of history.

P. 90 Archive Fever – A Freudian Impres­sion”, Jacques Derrida 1994, The Univer­sity of Chicago Press 1996 ISBN: 0226143678
Within the mind and body, a person carries a covert, personal library that includes genetic memory and the subcon­scious. An archive like­wise may be more than the sum of its collected parts when in between the lines (the walls of shelves), the subordinate’s voice is somehow incor­po­rated into the museum’s body, as oral history, for instance – not walled in and forgotten (anti gone). Tanya Ury’s piece archive burn out makes a case for the rein­state­ment of the hidden or excluded.

Inte­grated into the piece are quota­tions from, amongst other things:

Wir bauen eine Stadt”, Kinderoper, Paul Hindemith 1930
The Story of General Dann and Mara’s Daughter, Griot and the Snow Dog”, Doris Lessing, 2005
The Post Card – From Socrates to Freud and Beyond”, Jacques Derrida 1987
Archive Fever: A Freudian Impres­sion”, Jacques Derrida 1995
Fahren­heit 451”, Ray Brad­bury 1953, the film by François Truf­faut in 1966
The Emigrants”, W.G. Sebald, 1992
And from Elfriede Jelinek’s email corre­spon­dence with Joachim Lux, in the programme notes for Das Werk“ (The Works), Burgth­e­ater, 2002/​2003.

***

A hege­monic power may demon­strate its ruth­less will, when frac­tions of a society’s estab­lished history are simply elim­i­nated or disre­garded. Whether it happens by chance, as in Alexan­dria of 48 BCE — legend has it that Julius Caesar acci­den­tally burned down the Ancient Library, the largest in the ancient world, during a conflict with Achillas; or by strategy – the Armenian geno­cide of 1915 is still offi­cially being denied in Turkey today; by intrigue — with the efface­ment of certain, no longer wished for facts of histor­ical knowl­edge, as in Soviet Russia of 1929, when Stalin removed images of Trotsky and other politi­cians from offi­cial photographs (they were consid­ered enemies of the people after ques­tioning Stalin’s dicta­to­rial rule); or as in Germany under the Nazis, when a great part of the cultural legacy was symbol­i­cally destroyed with the book burning, of so-called degen­erate writing, in 1933.

In all these cases, the signif­i­cance of a minority culture or aspects of a history that ruling powers seek to bury is under­mined — even in the case of Alexan­dria, a conquering army’s lack of aware­ness regarding the archive’s impor­tance will have been a justi­fi­ca­tion for allowing the library to be destroyed. By these ensnare­ments of exclu­sion or elim­i­na­tion, the voice of a minority may be subsumed and disap­pear. In effect not only genetic but also cultural survival may be ensured or denied by the body politic.

Wilhelm Unger, a Jewish writer, theatre critic and jour­nalist from Cologne was Tanya Ury’s great uncle. On his death in 1985, he bequeathed his personal library to the Salomon Ludwig Stein­heim — Insti­tute for German-Jewish History in Duis­burg. Unger’s personal archive was however, donated to the Histor­ical Archives of the City of Cologne, which trag­i­cally collapsed (along with Tanya Ury’s family archive, including the legacy of her father, Peter Ury’s composed music, and her grand­fa­ther Alfred Unger’s writ­ings). A video extract (5:30 minutes) from the docu­men­tary Verbannte und Verbrannte Kunst” (Banned and Burned Art), by Mari­anne Tralau, from 1983 (cour­tesy of Kaos Kunst & Video-Archiv e.V. Cologne) screened as part of the perfor­mance, also consists of a news­paper passage from 1933, about the book burning on 17th May, in the city of Cologne, conducted by students in the name of the National Social­ists, on the univer­sity premises, and an inter­view with Wilhelm Unger, who witnessed his own books being burned

With the collapse of the Histor­ical City Archives of Cologne, Germany in 2009, a care­less­ness regarding the collec­tion of a more compre­hen­sive histor­ical memory base, than that of a museum (for an archive also assem­bles the minu­tiae of past daily life) became apparent much later – the even­tual subsi­dence of the building was not only due to count­less corrupt local busi­ness prac­tices during the process of the construc­tion of a new tram­line in the vicinity — this archive, the largest munic­ipal collec­tion north of the Alps might have been salvaged, had warning signs of cracks in base­ment walls, which had been reported three months earlier, been taken heed of by the Archive’s own admin­is­tra­tors – there would have been enough time to under­take a salvage oper­a­tion before the fall.

The impli­ca­tions of neglect in this case become more prob­lem­atic when it is apparent that the archive included lega­cies of artists, archi­tects, composers, writers, chore­o­g­ra­phers, in effect free thinkers1 but also Jewish fami­lies (letter exchanges from the Nazi war years will also have gone down with the Archive).

Five years after the collapse of the Histor­ical City Archives, although much of the osten­sibly lost mate­rial has been salvaged, is being stored in museums all over Germany and is in the process of being cleaned – owners of personal archives, have not yet been permitted to view their legacy.

***

Following the death of her mother Sylvia, in London 1998, the artist Tanya Ury, together with other close rela­tives, decided to donate family docu­ments and papers to the Histor­ical Archives in Cologne, the archive collec­tion known at the time, as the largest this side of the Alps.

Due to negli­gence, both on the part of builders of a new tram­line tunnel in the vicinity but also Archive author­i­ties, who failed to take seri­ously warning cracks that had appeared in the building, the Histor­ical Archives collapsed on 3.3.2009, and some 900 indi­vidual depos­i­to­ries including mate­rial dating back a thou­sand years were folded together with rubble and ruins.

The Ury/​Unger family suffered the loss of a mass of corre­spon­dence, dating back from before WW2 until the late 1990’s, histor­ical docu­ments, super 8 films, photographs, orig­inal musical scores and many jour­nal­istic tape record­ings – these being the remaining traces of a family that had been closely involved in the devel­op­ment of German culture, before and after the Second World War. The family archive repre­sented memo­ra­bilia belonging to 4 gener­a­tions of a Jewish-German family of survivors, who had also expe­ri­enced exile or anni­hi­la­tion at the hands of the Nazis.

***

While Tanya Ury’s great uncle Wilhelm Unger bequeathed his library, including many books of partic­ular Jewish histor­ical interest, to the city of Duis­burg, his personal archive went missing with the Cologne Archive disaster in 2009. Unger, who died in 1984 was also, as co-founder of the Germania Judaica of the City Library in Cologne, an impor­tant voice in Cologne. Alfred Unger’s personal library, with its many German clas­sics and signed first editions, is now however, unac­counted for. Even if these books are situ­ated in a museum storage unit, some­where in Germany, in one of the 19 insti­tu­tions to where all salvaged archive mate­rial was sent, following the acci­dent – personal archive owners have been informed it will take some 30 years to sort through and clean every­thing.

The impli­ca­tions of the loss of such a family archive has been far fetching, given that much of this was the last remaining token of a family that was emotion­ally if not actu­ally destroyed by Nazi Germany. In the face of a sense of trust again having been betrayed in Germany, and a feeling of desper­a­tion after the events of the 3rd March 2009, Tanya Ury expe­ri­enced burn out.

She was not alone – many Archive workers, who were working on the premises the day of the collapse, and barely escaped with their lives, or those histo­rians, whose project studies were ended with the sudden loss of research mate­rial, also under­went psycho­log­ical break-down. The perfor­mance with its title archive burn out refers to emotional exhaus­tion, as much as to oblit­er­a­tion by fire.

***

A parallel to the book burning by Nazi Germans that Ury’s grand­fa­ther Alfred expe­ri­enced as an author in Berlin and his brother Wilhelm Unger witnessed as an inno­cent bystander, in Cologne is drawn by contem­po­rary artist and archive owner Tanya Ury, who has been left bereft of her family testi­mo­nial. archive burn out commem­o­rates their destruc­tion at the time and the contem­po­rary loss of the archive.

1 Including the artist Mary Baumeister, Peter Busmann, the archi­tect of Museum Ludwig and the Phil­har­monie in Cologne, Jewish composer Jacques Offen­bach and Hein­rich Böll, the Nobel prize winner for liter­a­ture.


Archive – a collec­tion of works


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series) 


Extract from archive burn out (rehearsal 5.4.2014) — Tanya Ury (voice/​text), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion), with a quota­tion from The Post Card – From Socrates to Freud and Beyond”, Jacques Derrida, 1987, Univer­sity of Chicago Press, ISBN 13: 9780226143224

Extract from archive burn out (rehearsal 5.4.2014) — Tanya Ury (voice/​text), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion)


Presen­ta­tion


Solo Exhi­bi­tions

2014 (13.2. – 21.4.) Tanya Ury’s Hair Shirt Army, an instal­la­tion, spon­sored by the Kulturamt (Art’s Council Cologne), will be presented for the first time in the crypt of EL-DE-Haus, the Nazi Docu­men­ta­tion Centre, Cologne (D), opening 7pm, 13th February, with an intro­duc­tion by Professor Dr. Ernst van Alphen, Leiden Univer­sity (NL). A programme of events includes a perfor­mance concert archive burn out on 10th April, with Suspended Beliefs”, poetry with impro­vised music: Tanya Ury (voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion)
2014 (2.12.) A video docu­men­ta­tion of the perfor­mance concert archive burn out, on 10th April in the Nazi Docu­men­ta­tion Centre, Cologne, with Suspended Beliefs”, impro­vised poetry with impro­vised music: Tanya Ury (voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion) can be seen on Vimeo under these links: Docu­men­ta­tion: vimeo​.com/​112831445 Trailer: vimeo​.com/​112828403 Encore: vimeo​.com/​112828985
2015 (29.4.) Tanya Ury’s power point presen­ta­tion Personal Affects – Going into the Archive, featuring extracts from the videos Fury and archive burn out with a discus­sion, is being held at 17:00 – 18.30 at the invi­ta­tion by Dr. Dora Osborne’s at Princess Dashkova Centre, 14 Buccleuch Place, Univer­sity of Edin­burgh EH8 9LN, Edin­burgh (GB)

Festi­vals Etc.  

2018 (14. – 16.1.) Tanya Ury presents a video docu­men­ta­tion of her perfor­mance concert archive burn out, filmed and edited by Freya Hatten­berger on 10th April 2014 in the Nazi Docu­men­ta­tion Centre, Cologne, with Suspended Beliefs”: poetry, text and impro­vised music: Tanya Ury (voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion), after a power point presen­ta­tion of Ury’s article Personal Affects – Going into the Archive (short version), 11.2012.40 pm on 16th January, at The Future of the Archive, Performing the Jewish Archive and Beyond, British Library, London (GB)


Publi­ca­tions & Press

2014 (3.5) Inter­view (22:18 minutes on 18th April) with Tanya Ury by Brigitte Lang and Rebecca Mann, on the instal­la­tion Who’s Boss: Hair Shirt Army in the Nazi Docu­men­ta­tion Centre, Cologne, including extracts of Ury’s concert perfor­mance archive burn out, with Suspended Beliefs: Tanya Ury (text/​voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion)), online on Allewel­tonair (D) (All the World on air) as podcast – can’t dance without my shadow”
www​.allewel​tonair​.de/t…
2014 (9) Inter­view with Tanya Ury by Verena Krippner, including extracts of Ury’s concert perfor­mance burn out, with Suspended Beliefs: Tanya Ury (text/​voice), Gernot Bogumil (trumpet), Kasander Nilist (double bass), Hans Salz (percus­sion), online at this link:
fish​ing​fore​mo​tions​.de/ (D)
2014 Osborne, D. (2014), ‘“Alas, alas. House, oh house!”: The collapse of the Cologne City Archive’, Journal of Urban Cultural Studies, 1: 3, pp. 395 – 416, doi: 10.1386/jucs.1.3.395_1, including a critique of Ury’s Archive — Fury and archive burn out

Scroll to Top

2014 

Die Konzert-Perfor­mance: archive burn out, wurde mit Suspended Beliefs“ am 10. April im NS-Doku­men­ta­ti­ons­zen­trum der Stadt Köln aufge­führt. Mitwir­kende Künst­le­rInnen der Veran­stal­tung, die Gedichte und Texte zu impro­vi­sierter Musik einschließt, waren: Tanya Ury (Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion). Die Perfor­mance wurde von Freya Hatten­berger doku­men­tiert und geschnitten und kann hier gesehen werden:

Doku­men­ta­tion: 46:06 Minuten: vimeo​.com/​112831445
Trailer: 6:51 Minuten: vimeo​.com/​112828403
Zugabe: 8:30 Minuten: vimeo​.com/​112828985 

Tanya Ury entwi­ckelte archive burn out, einen gespro­chenen Text, zusammen mit Suspended Beliefs: Gernot Bogumil – Trom­pete, Kasander Nilist – Kontra­bass, Hans Salz – Percus­sion. Jeder der vier Teile: the gathe­rers (die Sammler), the library (die Biblio­thek), anti gone (gegen Verschwinden) und burn out (ausbrennen) stellt die verschie­denen Stufen in der Entwick­lung und den letzt­end­li­chen Kollaps eines Archivs dar. Ein Video-Clip über die Bücher­ver­bren­nung unter den Nazis 1933, im Kontext dieses Stücks, das auf den Einsturz des Histo­ri­schen Archivs der Stadt Köln hinweist, fünf Jahre nach diesem Vorfall, verbindet die beiden Ereig­nisse. 

Die impro­vi­sierte Musik hat eine Form, die verschie­dene Konzepte inte­griert. Zum Beispiel wird ein west­afri­ka­ni­scher Rhythmus des Ewe”-Volkes nach­emp­funden. Mit einer penta­to­ni­schen Skala, werden ostasia­ti­sche Sounds kreiert. Jazz­ar­tige bzw. eher abstrak­tere Klänge der neuen Musik, sowie ein choral-ähnli­ches Element, gestalten Teile dieser Impro­vi­sa­tion, um Diver­sität und Inklu­sion in der Ansamm­lung eines Archivs anzu­deuten, bevor es wegen der Zensur/​Nachlässigkeit schei­tert.

Wenn Freud an einem Archivübel/​Verlangen nach dem Archiv gelitten hat, wenn sein Fall in die Kate­gorie einer Störung/​Verwirrung des Archivs gehört, so geschieht das nicht ohne Grund zeit­gleich in dem Übel und der Störung des Archivs, welche wir heute erleben, ob es sich nun um seine leich­testen Symptome oder die großen holo­caus­ti­schen Tragö­dien unserer Geschichte so-wie unserer modernen Geschichts­schrei­bung handelt; um all die verab­scheu­ens­wür­digen Revi­sio­nismen sowie um die legi­timsten, notwen­digen und mutigen Um-Schriften der Geschichte.

S. 159 Dem Archiv Verschreiben – Eine Freud­sche Impres­sion
Archive Fever – A Freu­dian Impres­sion”, Jacques Derrida 1994, Brink­mann & Bose Verlag Berlin 1997 ISBN 3922660673

Inner­halb von Geist und Körper trägt der Mensch eine verbor­gene persön­liche Biblio­thek, welche die gene­ti­sche Erin­ne­rung und das Unter­be­wusst­sein beinhaltet. Ein Archiv kann über die Summe dieser Bestand­teile hinaus­gehen, wenn zwischen den Zeilen (Regal­wänden), die Stimme des Subal­tern irgendwie in den Körper des Museums, als münd­liche Geschichte etwa, inkor­po­riert wird – nicht einge­mauert und vergessen (anti gone – gegen Verschwinden). Tanya Urys Stück archive burn out plädiert für die Wieder­ein­set­zung des Versteckten oder Ausge­schlos­senen. 

In dem Stück inte­griert, sind Zitate aus u.a.: 

Wir bauen eine Stadt”, Kinder­oper, Paul Hinde­mith 1930 

The Story of General Dann and Mara’s Daughter, Griot and the Snow Dog” (Die Geschichte von General Dann und Maras Tochter, von Griot und dem Schnee­hund), Doris Lessing 2005 

The Post Card – From Socrates to Freud and Beyond” (Die Post­karte von Sokrates bis an Freud und jenseits), Jacques Derrida 1987 

Archive Fever: A Freu­dian Impres­sion” (Dem Archiv verschrieben – Eine Freud’sche Impres­sion), Jacques Derrida 1995 

Fahren­heit 451”, Ray Brad­bury 1953 – Film von Fran­çois Truf­faut 1966 

The Emigrants” (Die Ausge­wan­derten), W.G. Sebald 1992 

Und aus Elfriede Jelineks E‑Mailkorrespondenz mit Joachim Lux, aus dem Programm­heft Das Werk“, Burg­theater 2002/​2003 

***

Eine hege­mo­niale Macht mag ihren brutalen Willen demons­trieren, wenn Frak­tionen von etablierter Geschichte der Gesell­schaft einfach besei­tigt oder miss­achtet werden. Ob es zufällig geschieht, so wie im Alex­an­dria 48 v. Chr. – der Legende nach, hat Julius Cäsar die größte Biblio­thek der antiken Welt während eines Konfliktes mit Achillas verse­hent­lich nieder­ge­brannt; oder mit Absicht – der arme­ni­sche Genozid von 1915 wird in der Türkei heute immer noch geleugnet; aufgrund von Intrigen – mit der Auslö­schung bestimmter nicht mehr gewünschter histo­ri­scher Tatsa­chen, wie im Sowjet­russ­land von 1929, als Stalin Bilder von Trotzki und anderen Poli­ti­kern aus offi­zi­ellen Photo­gra­phien wegre­tu­schieren ließ (sie wurden als Volks­feinde einge­stuft, nachdem sie Stalins Diktatur in Frage gestellt haben); oder wie in Deutsch­land unter der Nazi­herr­schaft, als ein großer Teil des Kultur­erbes mit der Bücher­ver­bren­nung der so genannten entar­teten Lite­ratur“ 1933, symbo­lisch vernichtet wurde. 

In all diesen Fällen werden die Signi­fi­kanz einer Minder­hei­ten­kultur unter­graben, oder die Aspekte einer Geschichte, welche die herr­schenden Mächte zu begraben versu­chen– sogar in dem Fall von Alex­an­dria wurde das fehlende Wissen über die Bedeu­tung des Archivs seitens der erobernden Armee, als Recht­fer­ti­gung für die Zerstö­rung der Biblio­thek betrachtet. Durch all diese Mecha­nismen des Ausschlusses oder der Besei­ti­gung, könnte die Minder­heits­stimme unter­schlagen werden und verschwinden. In der Tat: nicht nur gene­ti­sches, sondern auch kultu­relles Über­leben wird von den poli­ti­schen Gemein­wesen entweder gesi­chert oder negiert.

Wilhelm Unger, ein jüdi­scher Autor, Thea­ter­kri­tiker und Jour­na­list aus Köln, war Tanya Urys Groß­onkel. Vor seinem Tod in 1985 vermachte er seine Privat­bi­blio­thek dem Salomon Ludwig Stein­heim-Institut für deutsch-jüdi­sche Geschichte e. V. in Duis­burg. Ungers privater Nach­lass wurde jedoch dem Histo­ri­schen Archiv der Stadt Köln geschenkt, das tragi­scher­weiser einstürzte – mitsamt dem Fami­li­en­nach­lass der Tanya Ury Familie, welcher auch das Vermächtnis ihres Vaters – seine Kompo­si­tionen – und die Schriften ihres Groß­va­ters Alfred Unger beinhal­tete. Ein Video-Ausschnitt (5:30 Minuten) der Doku­men­ta­tion Verbannte und Verbrannte Kunst” aus den frühen Acht­ziger Jahren wird als Teil der Perfor­mance proji­ziert (Dank an Kaos Kunst & Video-Archiv e.V. Cologne). Dieser Clip beinhaltet auch einen Zeitungs­aus­schnitt aus 1933, über die Bücher­ver­bren­nung vom 17. Mai, in Köln, die von Studenten auf dem Univer­si­täts­ge­lände im Namen der Natio­nal­so­zia­listen unter­nommen wurde. Weiterhin sieht man ein Inter­view mit Wilhelm Unger, der die Verbren­nung seiner eigenen Bücher miter­lebt hat.

Das Histo­ri­sche Archiv der Stadt Köln hat einen deut­lich größeren Spei­cher als ein Museum (auch weil ein Archiv die Details und Augen­blicke eines vergan­genen Lebens in sich fasst). Eine Nach­läs­sig­keit wurde erst lange nach dem Einsturz des 2009 deut­lich – die Gebäu­de­ab­sen­kung erfolgte nicht nur infolge unzäh­liger korrupter Geschäfts­prak­tiken während der Konstruk­tion einer neuen Stra­ßen­bahn in der Nähe – dieses Archiv, die größte kommu­nale Samm­lung nörd­lich von den Alpen, hätte gerettet werden können, wenn man die alar­mie­renden Risse in den Keller­räumen, über der Archiv­ver­walter drei Monate zuvor berichtet hatte, ernst genommen hätte – es wäre genug Zeit gewesen, vor dem Einsturz Siche­rungs­ar­beiten zu unter­nehmen.

Die Impli­ka­tionen der Nach­läs­sig­keit in diesem Fall werden noch proble­ma­ti­scher, wenn man sich vor Augen führt, dass dieses Archiv die Nach­lässe von Künst­lern, Archi­tekten, Autoren, Choreo­gra­phen, das heißt Frei­den­kern1, doch auch jüdi­sche Fami­lien beinhal­teten (Brief­wechsel aus den Kriegs­jahren unter den Nazis werden mit dem Einsturz verschwunden gegangen sein).

Obwohl fünf Jahre nach dem Einsturz des Histo­ri­schen Archivs viele der verlo­renen geglaubten Mate­ria­lien gerettet wurden, in Museen in ganzen Deutsch­land einge­la­gert sind und gerei­nigt werden – ist es den Inha­bern der Nach­lässe immer noch nicht erlaubt, ihr Erbe zu besich­tigen. 

***

Nach dem Tod ihrer Mutter Sylvia, in London 1998, entschied die Künst­lerin Tanya Ury, zusammen mit weiteren engen Verwandten, dem Histo­ri­schen Archiv in Köln, das als größtes Archiv auf dieser Seite der Alpen gilt, die Fami­li­en­do­ku­mente und Papiere zu schenken.

Durch Nach­läs­sig­keit auf Seiten der Baufirma eines neuen Stra­ßen­bahn­tun­nels in der Gegend, aber auch der Archiv­be­hörden, die warnende Risse in den Gebäu­de­wänden nicht ernst genommen hatten, stürzte das Histo­ri­sche Archiv am 3.3.2009 ein und in etwa 900 indi­vi­du­elle Nach­lässe, inklu­sive tausend Jahre alter Mate­ria­lien, wurden – mit Schutt und Trüm­mern vermengt – begraben.

Die Familie Ury/​Unger verlor eine Menge von Korre­spon­denzen, die aus der Zeit von vor dem Zweiten Welt­krieg bis in die späten 1990er Jahre hinein stammen – histo­ri­sche Doku­mente, Super-8-Filme, Photo­gra­phien, Musik­noten und viele jour­na­lis­ti­sche Tonauf­nahmen – dies alles die über geblie­benen Spuren eine Familie, die eng in die Entwick­lung deut­scher Kultur vor und nach dem zweiten Welt­krieg invol­viert war. Der Nach­lass reprä­sen­tiert Memo­ra­bi­lien aus 4 Genera­tionen einer jüdisch-deut­schen Familie von Über­le­benden, die auch Exil oder Vernich­tung durch die Nazis erlebt hat. 

***

Während Tanya Urys Groß­onkel Wilhelm Unger seine Biblio­thek, die viele Bücher zu jüdisch-histo­ri­schen Themen umfasst, der Stadt Duis­burg vermacht hat, ist sein persön­li­ches Archiv jedoch bei dem Kölner Archiv-Desaster 2009 verschwunden. Unger, der 1984 starb, war auch als Mitbe­gründer der Schrif­ten­samm­lung Germania Judaica in der Stadt­bi­blio­thek, ein wich­tiger Kölner Akteur. Alfred Ungers persön­liche Biblio­thek, mit ihren vielen deut­schen Klas­si­kern und signierten Erst­edi­tionen gilt leider jetzt noch als vermisst. Auch wenn diese Bücher in einem Muse­ums­la­ger­raum irgendwo in Deutsch­land einge­la­gert sind, in einer der 19 Insti­tu­tionen, wohin die gesamten geret­teten Archiv­ma­te­rialen nach dem Unfall geschickt wurden – sind die Nach­lass­geber infor­miert worden, dass es ca. 30 Jahre dauern wird, alles zu sichten und zu säubern.

Die Impli­ka­tionen des Verlustes eines solchen Fami­li­en­ar­chivs sind weit reichend, wenn man bedenkt, dass vieles davon die letzten Zeichen einer Familie darstellt, die emotional, wenn nicht physisch durch Nazi­deutsch­land zerstört wurde. Im Ange­sicht eines wieder­holten Vertrau­ens­miss­brauchs durch Deutsch­land, und eines Gefühles der Verzweif­lung nach den Ereig­nissen vom 3. März 2009, erlebte Tanya Ury ein burn out.

Sie war nicht allein – viele Archiv­ar­beiter, die an dem Tag des Einsturzes dort arbei­teten und knapp mit dem Leben davon­ge­kommen sind, oder die Histo­riker, deren Studien mit dem Verlust der Recher­che­ma­te­ria­lien beendet wurden, haben eben­falls einen psychi­schen Zusam­men­bruch erlitten. Die Perfor­mance, beti­telt burn out, deutet diese emotio­nale Erschöp­fung an, sowie die Zerstö­rung durch Feuer. 

***

Eine Paral­lele zu der natio­nal­so­zia­lis­ti­schen Bücher­ver­bren­nung, die Urys Groß­vater Alfred in Berlin erlebte – als verbrannter Autor – und die sein Bruder Wilhelm Unger in Köln beob­ach­tete – als unbe­tei­ligter Augen­zeuge – wurde von der Künst­lerin und Nach­lass­ge­berin Tanya Ury gezogen: burn out erin­nert an die Zerstö­rung damals und an den aktu­ellen Verlust des Archivs. 

1 Inklu­sive der Künst­lerin Mary Baumeister, Peter Busmann, des Archi­tekten des Museum Ludwigs und der Phil­har­monie in Köln, des jüdi­schen Kompo­nisten Jacques Offen­bach und des Lite­ratur-Nobel­preis­trä­gers Hein­rich Böll. 


Archiv – Eine Werk­serie


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)


Ausschnitt aus archive burn out (Probe von 5.4.14) – Tanya Ury (Stimme/​Text), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion), mit einem Zitat aus The Post Card – From Socrates to Freud and Beyond”, Jacques Derrida, 1987 (Die Post­karte – von Sokrates bis an Freud und jenseits).

Ausschnitt aus archive burn out (Probe von 5.4.14) – Tanya Ury (Stimme/​Text), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion)


Präsen­ta­tion


Einzel­aus­stel­lungen 

2014 (13.2. – 21.4.) Tanya Urys Hair Shirt Army (Armee-des-härenen-Gewands), eine Instal­la­tion von dem Kulturamt der Stadt Köln gespon­sert, wird als Gespenster-Instal­la­tion“ zum ersten Mal im Gewölbe des EL-DE-Hauses, dem NS-Doku­men­ta­ti­ons­zen­trum der Stadt Köln, präsen­tiert. Eröff­nung: 13. Februar 2014, 19 Uhr, mit einer Einfüh­rung von Professor Dr. Ernst van Alphen, Univer­sität Leiden (NL). Das Neben­pro­gramm schließt ein Konzert archive burn out am 10. April mit Suspended Beliefs“ ein: Gedichte zu impro­vi­sierter Musik: Tanya Ury (Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion) 

2014 (2.12.) Die Perfor­mance: archive burn out von Suspended Beliefs“, am 10. April, im NS-Doku­men­ta­ti­ons­zen­trum der Stadt Köln, das Gedichte zu impro­vi­sierter Musik: Tanya Ury (Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion) einschließt, kann man auf Vimeo unter diese Links sehen: Doku­men­ta­tion: vimeo​.com/​112831445 Trailer: vimeo​.com/​112828403 Zugabe: vimeo​.com/​112828985 

2015 (29.4.) Tanya Urys Power-Point-Präsen­ta­tion: Personal Affects – Going into the Archive (Bestands­auf­nahme) über das Archiv, mit Ausschnitten aus den Videos Fury und archive burn out, 17:00 – 18:30 Uhr, mit einer Diskus­sion, erfolgt auf Einla­dung von Dr. Dora Osborne, an der Edin­burgh Univer­sity (Princess Dash­kova Centre, 14 Buccleuch Place, Univer­sity of Edin­burgh EH8 9LN, Edin­burgh) (GB)

Festi­vals usw.  

2018 (14. – 16.1.) Tanya Ury präsen­tiert eine Video-Doku­men­ta­tion ihrer Konzert-Perfor­mance archive burn out, mit Suspended Beliefs“ aufge­führt am 10. April im NS-Doku­men­ta­ti­ons­zen­trum der Stadt Köln. Mitwir­kende Künst­le­rInnen der Veran­stal­tung, die Gedichte und Texte zu impro­vi­sierter Musik einschließt, waren: Tanya Ury (Stimme) & Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion). Das Video wurde von Freya Hatten­berger doku­men­tiert und geschnitten. Die Vorfüh­rung ist am 16. Januar (11.201240 Uhr) nach der Power-Point-Präsen­ta­tion von Urys Artikel Personal Affects – Going into the Archive (Bestands­auf­nahme – Das Archiv betreten, Kurz­fas­sung) auf der Tagung The Future of the Archive, Performing the Jewish Archive and Beyond, British Library, London, präsen­tiert (GB)


Publi­ka­tionen & Presse

2014 (3.5) Inter­view (22:18 Minuten, am 18. April) mit Tanya Ury von Brigitte Lang und Rebecca Mann, über die Instal­la­tion Who’s Boss: Hair Shirt Army im NS-Dok-Zentrum Köln, mit Ausschnitte von Urys Konzert-Perfor­mance archive burn out mit Suspended Beliefs: Tanya Ury (Text/​Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion), für Alle­weltonair (D), online als Podcast – can’t dance without my shadow” www​.alle​weltonair​.de/t… 

2014 (9) Inter­view mit Tanya Ury von Verena Krippner, online über diesen Link: fishing​fo​remo​tions​.de/, mit Ausschnitte von Urys Konzert-Perfor­mance burn out mit Suspended Beliefs: Tanya Ury (Text/​Stimme), Gernot Bogumil (Trom­pete), Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass), Hans Salz (Percus­sion) (D)

Nach oben