Video-instal­la­tion A DVD (36:42 minutes) of the poem layout with voice-over sound­track for projec­tion was created in 2011 (image format 4:3) – trailer cement no. 16, 1:02 minutes.

These poems take up the thread where the half dimen­sional poems leave off. In style and sense they are concrete poems, a collec­tion of jumbled abstract thoughts, misun­der­stood conver­sa­tion and misread text, which, because they are compiled so regu­larly, reflect the daily life and tempera­ment of the artist.
***
Tanya Ury’s written poetry may be regarded as concrete” because of its visual design, and uncon­ven­tional aural effect when spoken — the texts thereby gain in dimen­sion beyond accepted meaning.
2011, Ury created visual images of 17 concrete poems, to be presented online and as print versions (23.532.45 cm), digital image processing Mirco Sanftleben, two of these poems being femi­ninity and femi­nini­a­tion, the rest being part of the series cement, weißer neger (white nigger), concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv and since 2011 Tanya Ury recorded 6 of the more tradi­tional poems (toned poems: 5.54 minutes) to be found in the poetry series, together with Kasander Nilist (double bass, sound and mix), also for the June edition online of Imag­i­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sity of Alberta (CA) with Ury as featured artist. https://​www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/​i​m​a​g​i​n​a​t​ions/
Ury has also created other artworks that might be consid­ered visual poetry. Moving Message 1992, incor­po­rates an LED sign displaying the words: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 is a photo series combined with poetry and wrestle­with­y­ourangel 2001, is a neon sign produced together with the neon sign neonazi 2001; the title of a double photo portrait lesser is me more or less 2003 plays on the name of the German Post-Impres­sionist Lesser Ury, as does the title of a further double portrait or else 2007, which refers to the German writer Else Ury. The title of a third photo-portrait Beelze­bu­larin 2005 (in the Promised Land series) reveals itself to be an anagram of the biblical Bezalel Ben Uri. half dimen­sional — semi detached 2010, combines the first of the half dimen­sional poems with the photo­graph semi detached.


concrete – a collec­tion of works (including poetry series)


Presen­ta­tion

2012 (11.6) Tanya Ury is the featured artist with new works in the June edition online of Imag­i­na­tions: Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sity of Alberta, Canada, with Videos: Inti­macy, cement & dark room; a series of 17 concrete poems, the photo­graph Alibi­jude, Selec­tion from the Who’s Boss series, and 8 photos from Soul Brothers & Sisters, also 3 photos of Occupy in Stras­bourg, from the Fading into the Fore­ground series; further­more 5 toned poems (sounds, music and sound mix Kasander Nilist) and a peer review inter­view (text and Skype video) with Claude Desmarais, (CA) https://www.csj.ualberta.ca/imaginations/https://www.csj.ualberta.ca/imaginations/

Scroll to Top

2011-01-142011-05-25 

Video-Instal­la­tion

In 2011 wurde eine DVD des Gedicht-Layouts produ­ziert (Bild­format 4:3) (36:42 Minuten) für Projek­tion mit Ton (Voice-Over). Trailer: cement Nr. 16, 1:02 Minuten. 

Diese Gedichte spinnen den Faden weiter, den die Arbeit half dimen­sional poems (halb­di­men­sio­nale Gedichte) begonnen hat. In Stil und Absicht sind sie konkrete Poesie“, eine Kollek­tion aus durch­ein­ander gewor­fenen, abstrakten Gedanken, miss­ver­stan­dener Unter­hal­tung und falsch gele­senen Texten, die alle zusammen, weil sie regel­mäßig gesam­melt werden, Alltag und Gemüt der Künst­lerin reflek­tieren.

***

Tanya Urys geschrie­bene Poesie könnte man als konkret“ bezeichnen: wegen des visu­ellen Design beim Betrachten und wegen des unkon­ven­tio­nellen Klangs beim Aufsagen derselben – die Texte gewinnen dadurch Dimen­sionen jenseits der gängigen Wort-Bedeu­tung.

2011 gestal­tete Ury 17 konkrete Gedichte als Bild­ge­dichte“ (sowohl als Online- wie als Druck­fas­sung (23,532,45 cm), Bild­be­ar­bei­tung Mirco Sanft­leben. Zwei dieser Poeme – femi­ninity, femi­ni­nia­tion – erschienen einzeln, die anderen als Teile der Serien cement, weißer neger, concrete party & oral call, cross word, toned poems, two toned, pommes, taste of space, leeres archiv und seit 2011 hat Tanya Ury zusammen mit Kasander Nilist (Kontra­bass, Ton und Schnitt) auch sechs der eher tradi­tio­nellen Gedichte aus ihrer Poesie-Reihe aufge­zeichnet (toned poems: 5.54 Minuten). Die Aufnahme erscheint Online in der Juni-Edition von Imagi­na­tions – Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sität von Alberta (CA), die sich der Künst­lerin Ury widmet.
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Auch andere Kunst­ar­beiten Urys lassen sich als visu­elle Poesie“ verstehen. Moving Message 1992, beinhaltet ein LED-Display mit den Wörtern: you are why; Sonata in Sea 1999 – 2000 ist eine Photo­serie kombi­niert mit Poesie und wrest­le­with­y­ou­r­angel 2001 ist ein Neon­leucht­zei­chen, das zusammen mit dem Neon­zei­chen neonazi 2001 ange­fer­tigt wurde; der Titel eines Photo-Doppel-Porträts lesser is me more or less 2003 spielt auf den Namen von Lesser Ury an, den deut­schen Post-Impres­sio­nisten, sowie auf den Titel eines weiteres Doppel-Porträts or else 2007, der auf die deut­sche Autorin Else Ury deutet. Der Titel eines dritten Porträt-Photos Beel­ze­bu­larin 2005 (in der Serie Promised Land) entschlüs­selt sich als Anagram des bibli­schen Bezalel Ben Uri“. half dimen­sional – semi detached 2010 schließ­lich kombi­niert das erste der half dimen­sional poems mit der Photo­gra­phie semi detached.


concrete – Eine Werk­serie (Beinhaltet Gedicht­reihen)


Präsen­ta­tion

2012 (11.6) Die Juni-Online-Ausgabe von Imagi­na­tions: Journal of Cross-Cultural Image Studies, Univer­sität von Alberta, Kanada, stellt die Künst­lerin Tanya Ury vor, mit neuen Arbeiten – Videos: Inti­macy, cement & dark room; eine Serie von 17 concrete poems, die Photo­gra­phie Alibi­jude, Selec­tion aus der Who’s Boss-Serie, und 8 Photos aus Soul Brothers & Sisters. Außerdem: 3 Photos von Occupy in Stras­bourg, aus der Serie Fading into the Fore­ground; und weitere 6 toned poems (Sounds, Musik & Tonmi­schung: Kasander Nilist) sowie einem Peer-Review-Inter­view (Text und Skype-Inter­view-Abschrift) mit Claude Desma­rais (CA)
www​.csj​.ualberta​.ca/im…

Nach oben